We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
135
116
28
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
116
28
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot scones glow worm tour small cabin electric blankets the main street walking distance to restaurants two nights sliding door checking out single bed excellent location short stay parking space great accommodation quiet location comfortable bed guest laundry
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We enjoyed our stay at 10 cottages. The room was comfortable with a convenient small kitchen. All very clean. It was in easy walking distance of multiple restaurants and to the office to book a helicopter flight to the glacier.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Beverly

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you got one of our helicopter discount vouchers along with a discount voucher for the restaurant.
Hopefully you are able to come back this way in the future - when you do please book directly on our website for the cheapest prices.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Very spacious rooms that have only recently been renovated. Great comfy bed and good little kitchenette. Heated floor tiles and heated towel rack were awesome. Easy 5 minute walk to town. There is a laundry which is very handy. Plus free unlimited WiFi.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BrettBega_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hi Brett

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully you can stay with us again, when you do please book on our website for the cheapest prices.

I hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stayed 1 night and could easily have stayed longer. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. It was modern and seemed fairly new. We booked a 2 bedroom (main bedroom had a queen bed and single bed); electric blankets on beds and extra heaters; the 2nd bedroom had 3 single beds). The lounge/dining room was comfortable with a heater. Kitchenette (included a 2 burner stovetop; microwave; bar fridge). Our cabin was facing main road, but we didn't have any noise issues. It also had a little courtyard out the back with table and chairs. The cottage/cabin also included a BBQ (with a picnic table for seating outside). It's not fully undercover, so if rainy weather it would be unsuitable for sitting outside). however if raining you can't sit out there as it's not fully undercover which is a shame); bathroom was small but adequate. In walking distance to restaurants/cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank lizziebeth75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hi Lizzie

Thank you for your review of our 2 bedroom cottage. I am happy to hear you could have easily stayed longer.
If you are coming back please book on our website (the cheapest place to book) where we have discounts for staying two night or more so people have time to explore our special part of NZ.
I hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Comfortable for a 2 night stay
Limited meal prep area but we ate out anyway
Cottage 10 is 'access' designed so bathroom was open plan & water splashed everywhere as there's only a shower curtain Not sure about other cottages
Quiet location
Good value for money

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lordy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Hi Lordy39

I am glad you found the cottages good value for money (our best prices are always on our own website) and enjoyed our central location.
By NZ law as there are 10 rooms two are required to be wheel chair accessible - the other 8 rooms have a standard glass shower, if you prefer these when you book next time mention it and we will make sure you get one.

I hope the rest of your holiday goes well.

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We stayed at 10 Cottages for 2 nights at Franz Josef in September 2017. The cabin we stayed at is blocked by another cabin, so the only view we had was the carpark. It comes with a double bed and a single bed, a kitchenette, and a toilet. The size of the cabin is normal (not too cramped) and the kitchenette comes with a microwave machine.

Everything here was okay, and its close to the town (the size of the town is pretty small). However, we didn't manage to see the glowworms thats near the cabin.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wai Kit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Hi Wai

I am glad you enjoyed the room size and our central location.

We offer two types of Cottages, Mountain View Cottages (ones with a view) and standard cottages (no views). If you book on our own website you will normally find the ones with views are the same prices as other sites offer for ones without views.

I hope the rest of your holiday goes well.

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews