We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$128
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Montrose(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
133
115
27
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
115
27
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot sconesglow worm tourbrought roundsmall cabindiscount voucherelectric blanketsthe main streetwalking distance to restaurantstwo nightssliding doorchecking outsingle bedexcellent locationshort stayrestaurant next doorparking spacegreat accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2017

10 cottages holiday rental is a nice cozy studio.

Plenty of space for 2 people. It kept warm in the cold winter evenings as well. The kitchen is well stocked and useful.

The staff are really helpful as well, and let me print out my tour information.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Hi Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms nice and warm.

We hope you are able to stay with us again in the future, when you do book direct on our website for the lowest price.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

A great location tucked back from the main road and out cottage had a lovely view. Clean and comfortable - great value for the price! We stayed two nights. We really appreciated the communication following our booking - with local activities and drive times to other locations. This came in very handy. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. And the recommendation for eating at Alice Mays was spot on!
Would we stay again - yes absolutely, but only if Cottage 1 or 2 were available.
We were rather surprised at how tightly the cottages are positioned on the property. It was not what we were expecting at all. Definitely designed to fit as many as possible on the site. We were in unit 2 and, no contest, had the best view.

Room Tip: Cottage one or two for some breathing space between cottages and a view...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1andM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi M1 and M2,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our central and quiet location. On our website (the cheapest place to book when you are next visiting Franz Josef) we have a range of photos to show the layout and distance between the Cottages. As you say due to the great location land is limited and the cottages are not miles apart although laid out to maximise the views. On our website we have standard cottages and Mountain View Cottages – if you book a Mountain View Cottage when you come back you will be guaranteed a Cottage with a good Mountain View.

We hope the rest of your holiday went well and you enjoyed your time in NZ.

Regards,

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

On our 2nd night. I love it here. Had stayed in accom elsewhere on route for the same price. No comparison at all. This wins hands down. Extremely comfortable in our cottage with everything you need plus breath taking views. Will book again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hilsy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Hilsy101,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you are able to stay with us again – when you do, please book on our website for the lowest price.
We hope the rest of your holiday goes well.

Regards,
Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Stayed here for two nights whilst exploring the glaciers and were very happy with our stay. The cottages are well equipped and decorated to a high standard. The motel that manage the cottages also run a nightly glow worm tour which was very good too! Wifi was acceptable and the TV signal was also of a high standard.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Laurence,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our wifi system.
We hope you are able to come back and stay with us in the future, when you do book on our website for our lowest price.

Regards,

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Small compact chalet for 3 of us, excellent location in town you can walk to everything. Stunning views of the mountains from the windows too. We stayed in cottage 6 for one night. The kitchenette was just a sink, microwave and fridge so don't expect to do any cooking here - luckily we all had a big lunch before arriving. Staff were friendly and they gave a free tour at night to see the glow worms which was awesome too! Other than being small the only thing I would moan about is no bin in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi Natasha

Thank you for your review and the feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed the view and central and quiet location.

I agree, if you are staying a few days the studio Cottage you stayed in is perhaps better for a couple or two adults and a child, for three adults you may have been better with one of our two or three bedroom options (which would have given you a separate lounge and hotplates / oven as well). We do have a BBQ for guest use but found people prefer not to have hotplates and the associated cooking smells in studio rooms.

Hopefully you are able to stay with us again in the future, when you do the lowest prices are only on our website.

I hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews