We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable!”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

My sister and I stayed at 10 Cottages for two nights, and we could not have been happier with the service/ location/ amenities provided. The room was immaculately clean, the beds were comfortable (each bed also had an electric blanket provided for extra warmth), and most importantly, the cottage was well heated (once the radiator had warmed up the room). It was a delight stepping into our cozy cottage after a freezing day out on the Franz Josef glacier. There is on site parking right in front of the 10 Cottages, which is very convenient and safe. There was no noise outside during our stay, and the amenities are quiet when running (perfect uninterrupted sleep).

The best thing about 10 Cottages is that it is off the main road - although this means no street lights (bringing a torch to Franz Josef is essential), there is also an uninhibited view of the spectacular night sky. On a clear night, a guest staying at 10 Cottages can have a plentiful view of the milky way.

Nearby to the cottages, there are hiking trails galore, which are safe and somewhat challenging to explore. 10 Cottages offers a free glow worm tour every night as part of the stay (1/2 tour up a small trail). Next to 10 Cottages, there is a beautiful little restaurant called Alice May's, which serves a range of New Zealand food - definitely worth having dinner here; the food is excellent.

Overall, I would highly recommend a stay at 10 Cottages - the owners should be proud to run such a professional and courteous establishment.

Room Tip: All cottages are fine. Step outside on a cloudless night and you have a full view of the milky way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_C1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Hi E_C

Thank you very much for your review, it is great for myself and the team to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

We hope you and your sister are able to come back and stay with us in the future, when you do please book on our website for our cheapest prices.

We hope the rest of your holiday goes well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

10 cottages holiday rental is a nice cozy studio.

Plenty of space for 2 people. It kept warm in the cold winter evenings as well. The kitchen is well stocked and useful.

The staff are really helpful as well, and let me print out my tour information.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Hi Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms nice and warm.

We hope you are able to stay with us again in the future, when you do book direct on our website for the lowest price.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

A great location tucked back from the main road and out cottage had a lovely view. Clean and comfortable - great value for the price! We stayed two nights. We really appreciated the communication following our booking - with local activities and drive times to other locations. This came in very handy. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. And the recommendation for eating at Alice Mays was spot on!
Would we stay again - yes absolutely, but only if Cottage 1 or 2 were available.
We were rather surprised at how tightly the cottages are positioned on the property. It was not what we were expecting at all. Definitely designed to fit as many as possible on the site. We were in unit 2 and, no contest, had the best view.

Room Tip: Cottage one or two for some breathing space between cottages and a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1andM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi M1 and M2,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our central and quiet location. On our website (the cheapest place to book when you are next visiting Franz Josef) we have a range of photos to show the layout and distance between the Cottages. As you say due to the great location land is limited and the cottages are not miles apart although laid out to maximise the views. On our website we have standard cottages and Mountain View Cottages – if you book a Mountain View Cottage when you come back you will be guaranteed a Cottage with a good Mountain View.

We hope the rest of your holiday went well and you enjoyed your time in NZ.

Regards,

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

On our 2nd night. I love it here. Had stayed in accom elsewhere on route for the same price. No comparison at all. This wins hands down. Extremely comfortable in our cottage with everything you need plus breath taking views. Will book again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hilsy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Hilsy101,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you are able to stay with us again – when you do, please book on our website for the lowest price.
We hope the rest of your holiday goes well.

Regards,
Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Stayed here for two nights whilst exploring the glaciers and were very happy with our stay. The cottages are well equipped and decorated to a high standard. The motel that manage the cottages also run a nightly glow worm tour which was very good too! Wifi was acceptable and the TV signal was also of a high standard.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Laurence,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our wifi system.
We hope you are able to come back and stay with us in the future, when you do book on our website for our lowest price.

Regards,

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,424 reviews
0.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,249 reviews
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $113 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing