We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class for families”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed for two nights during our South Island tour, in the 3-bedroom cottage. It was very well equipped, everything was very clean and well maintained. We could appreciate the modernisations that had been made throughout. The cottage was so big and we thoroughly enjoyed having a scone at 6pm ... what a treat!
I think the best part was the people. The staff clearly cared that we were both comfortable and equipped with enough infromation to get the most out of our stay and travel on safely when we had to leave.
I have absolutely no hesitation recommending this accommodation to others.

Room Tip: Family friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mcarins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Hi Mcarins

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stayed and appreciated the effort the team go it.

Thank you for the recommendation, we hope you are able to come and stay with us again - for our best rates book directly on our website.

We hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017

The reception staff here were lovely and welcoming and gave us lots of information for our stay in Franz Josef as well as for our drive up the coast once we left. The room was warm, clean and cosy - comfortable bed. There was a microwave in the kitchenette, but no hob or hotplate to cook on.

Room Tip: Great location and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janetteo160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Hi Janetto160

Thanks you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy you read you enjoyed our location.

Our two bedroom options with separate kitchens have hotplates or full ovens, based on guest feedback from other motels to avoid the smell of the last persons cooking lingering in the bedroom the studio rooms don't have hotplates but do have microwaves. We also have a BBQ area should guests want to use it.

We hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed at many apartment motels during a month in New Zealand. The very worst was 10 Cottages at Franz Joseph. The huts were poorly equipped with cooking equipment, they were packed so closely together that the whole site felt cramped and visitors were forced to look directly into each other's "cottages" or else live with the curtains drawn both day and night (and there were no net curtains), plus the laundry room was filthy. Staying there was an unpleasant experience and felt like a rip-off.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank poppyb156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Hi Poppyb156

I am very sorry to read that unlike the vast majority of our guest you did not enjoy your stay with us.

As we advertise on our website (the cheapest place to book) each studio Cottage offers a microwave, fridge, tea, coffee and breakfast making facilities. To help avoid the effects of unpleasant cooking smells in areas where people sleep only the 2 bedroom options have additional cooking facilities, I am sorry you were disappointed by this.

As the review prior to yours highlights we do have a great central location and the land is limited so there are 10 studio Cottages on the piece of land. I am sorry you were looking at another cottage rather than the mountains and view. Again on our website we do have photos showing all the Cottages so potential guests can see the layout before booking. Apologies if the communal Laundry got messy, it is cleaned once a day but does get a lot of use when we are fully booked such as when you stayed.

I hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights, and it was nice and comfortable. The only problem we had was the shower; water would leak out and soak the bathroom floor. The location is perfect, hikes starting just behind the cottages and the main town a 2 minute walk away. We stayed here over Christmas and the owners hosted all the guests for a BBQ dinner, which was awesome! I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Hi Sarah

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Myself and the team are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will look at the shower to see what is the problem.

We hope you are able to stay with us again in the future - if you are coming back for our best rates please book on our own website.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Excellent choice. Everything we needed. Owners obviously care about the quality of the rooms and ensure their guests are looked after very well. Very comfy beds. Very clean rooms. Close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Myself and the team are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location.

I hope the rest of your holiday goes well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,424 reviews
0.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,249 reviews
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $113 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing