We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
136
117
28
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
117
28
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot scones glow worm tour small cabin electric blankets the main street walking distance to restaurants sliding door two nights single bed excellent location short stay parking space great accommodation quiet location guest laundry comfortable bed would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The reception staff here were lovely and welcoming and gave us lots of information for our stay in Franz Josef as well as for our drive up the coast once we left. The room was warm, clean and cosy - comfortable bed. There was a microwave in the kitchenette, but no hob or hotplate to cook on.

Room Tip: Great location and quiet
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janetteo160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Hi Janetto160

Thanks you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy you read you enjoyed our location.

Our two bedroom options with separate kitchens have hotplates or full ovens, based on guest feedback from other motels to avoid the smell of the last persons cooking lingering in the bedroom the studio rooms don't have hotplates but do have microwaves. We also have a BBQ area should guests want to use it.

We hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed at many apartment motels during a month in New Zealand. The very worst was 10 Cottages at Franz Joseph. The huts were poorly equipped with cooking equipment, they were packed so closely together that the whole site felt cramped and visitors were forced to look directly into each other's "cottages" or else live with the curtains drawn both day and night (and there were no net curtains), plus the laundry room was filthy. Staying there was an unpleasant experience and felt like a rip-off.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank poppyb156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Hi Poppyb156

I am very sorry to read that unlike the vast majority of our guest you did not enjoy your stay with us.

As we advertise on our website (the cheapest place to book) each studio Cottage offers a microwave, fridge, tea, coffee and breakfast making facilities. To help avoid the effects of unpleasant cooking smells in areas where people sleep only the 2 bedroom options have additional cooking facilities, I am sorry you were disappointed by this.

As the review prior to yours highlights we do have a great central location and the land is limited so there are 10 studio Cottages on the piece of land. I am sorry you were looking at another cottage rather than the mountains and view. Again on our website we do have photos showing all the Cottages so potential guests can see the layout before booking. Apologies if the communal Laundry got messy, it is cleaned once a day but does get a lot of use when we are fully booked such as when you stayed.

I hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights, and it was nice and comfortable. The only problem we had was the shower; water would leak out and soak the bathroom floor. The location is perfect, hikes starting just behind the cottages and the main town a 2 minute walk away. We stayed here over Christmas and the owners hosted all the guests for a BBQ dinner, which was awesome! I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Hi Sarah

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Myself and the team are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will look at the shower to see what is the problem.

We hope you are able to stay with us again in the future - if you are coming back for our best rates please book on our own website.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Excellent choice. Everything we needed. Owners obviously care about the quality of the rooms and ensure their guests are looked after very well. Very comfy beds. Very clean rooms. Close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Myself and the team are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location.

I hope the rest of your holiday goes well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We were delighted with our choice- there are a lot of places to stay in Franz Josef but we were pleased we chose 10 Cottages. Each cabin has an allocated parking space. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, there was a well equipped kitchen although we only used the kettle and fridge, and the bathroom was spacious with a good, hot shower. The reception staff were very helpful, suggesting activities and restaurants when asked. We booked our helicopter ride through them as they can get a small discount with two of the local companies- I'm not sure how you would choose which company to use otherwise as there are so many! We also did the free gloworm walk at 10.30pm which was a nice touch- a very short walk from the motel. The only small downside was that the internet kept logging out so we had to keep re-entering the password- an annoyance rather than an issue as when the internet worked it was of a good speed. We would definitely return to 10 Cottages.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Placestovisit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team and I are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I hope the rest of your holiday goes well and you are able to come back and visit us again - for our best prices check our own website.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews