We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sharon P

Wonderful comfortable stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 May 2024
This hotel was absolutely beautiful and our room was fantastic. Our 2 dinner meals were the best we ever had, could not fault it at all. Staff were very courteous and friendly. Situated in a beautiful bush setting. A short walk from the town center. Would highly recommend
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $569
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $102
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Glacier View Villa
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $142
  • StayForLong
0.3 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
View more hotels in Franz Josef
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
721
210
88
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
721
210
88
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi juice course meal breakfast and dinner tour group underfloor heating native bush franz joseph both nights comfortable beds retreat glacier west coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2024

The resort was located in a good position with easy walking distance to the village area. The resort itself was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, bed comfortable and the shower was great. Dinner and breakfast were both very good. Spa facilities available but not used by us this time.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024

This is difficult to write completely. Te Waonui bills itself as a five star luxury hotel with a five course degustation dinner. Nothing could be further from the truth. While the waiters do wear white gloves, that’s all you’re getting. The food is frozen and then thawed and cooked. It’s just terrible. It’s basically a place for huge tour buses to stop for the night and have a ton of tourists spend the night at a “5-star” luxury hotel and they probably entice customers with that offering. And while it might be the better option in Franz Josef, the hotel is just not how it’s described. It’s dank. No one meets you outside (not that we needed that but it’s also on the website). The dining room is truly depressing and the staff just do their job. For our three night stay, we decided it was just a place to sleep after long hiking days and deal with the really bad mattress and pillows. It was so humid that anything we washed for laundry took the full three days to dry. We skipped dinner on nights 2&3 and ate out instead (Alice May & Monsoon). So much better to eat out with the Franz Josef visitors. Such a great eclectic group. For breakfasts, after viewing Te Waonui’s offering, we went to Full of Beans every morning. Amazing breakfasts there with quick and attentive service.
In the end, while Te Waonui wasn’t a particularly awful experience, it’s just a place to sleep. Don’t eat there and don’t expect anything close to luxury. If you go in with that in mind, it’ll be fine for your Franz Josef stay.

Room tip: The better hotel in the small town, but it’s not what the website portrays. It’s certainly not a five star luxury hotel and the food is bad.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigadam2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

We had a supper experience at this hotel. Lovely rooms overlooking a garden full of local flora so it looked like the forest.

We were greeted with hot towels and a welcome drink before being shown our room, which was spacious, nicely decorated and with lovely toiletries (and a bath and shower!).

We were on the bed, breakfast and dinner 🥘 a cake so enjoyed a five course degustation menu in the hotel restaurant which was very pleasant. Drinks were reasonably priced and service was prompt and friendly,

Lots of free parking on the hotel grounds.

Breakfast buffet was diverse answer cooked.

A great stay!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ScrumptiousSolent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024 via mobile

Stayed 1 night during a small group tour of NZ. Beautiful property with modern rooms, contemporary decor, and excellent maintenance. The town is quite small, however there or 4-5 restaurants within walking distance, as well as a grocery store. The location is great for visiting Franz Josef Glacier: the guide station is literally a 5 min drive. A complimentary laundry facility on site is also provided. Breakfast buffet is great with a lot of variety.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank zg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

What a great disappointment
Certainly not five star lucky if 2 stars
Overpriced $848 per night
Tired shabby rooms
Bathrooms with showers over bath
Turn on the bathroom room light the fan stays on for an additional 5 minutes when turned off
Bathroom 1980s shabby and needs refurbishment
There is a non operational window in the bathroom
The bar and lounge tired and need a significant upgrade with three inclusion lighting to more environmentally friendly LEDs and effective

Positive note the outlook is picturesque

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank U7251RDjenniferc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews