We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CandJDunnington
Doncaster, United Kingdom

Not somewhere we will return to

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2024
Looking at other reviews it seems that we were staying somewhere else. Looks great - the entrance and reception areas are lovely. Our room was OK and the hotel offered good laundry facilities. Three coachloads of people checked into this hotel when we were there and when we arrived for breakfast there was hardly any food left, some of the crockery was dirty and the staff largely ignored us as they were laying tables up for the next meal. Food had been spilt under some tables with no attempt to clean this up and generally the area felt uncared for. When speaking to the manager to express our concerns he just said they had 150 people at Breakfast just before us - this was meant to appease me. It didn't - we were paying customers and expected better service. On the whole the hotel was disappointing and the overall management of some areas should be much better. This is not somewhere I would would recommend.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Difficult as quite a few of the hotels in Franz Josef accommodate coach tours.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$129
  • Expedia.com
    $129
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
$245
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $245
  • Hotels.com
    $241
  • Trip.com
0.3 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main entrance
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $128
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $124
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
beds
$120
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $112
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Priceline
    $107
0.4 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
10 Cottages
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $153
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$570
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $570
  • Hotels.com
    $560
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$85
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $84
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • StayForLong
0.5 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$118
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • StayForLong
3.1 km from Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franz Josef
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveller rating
723
210
88
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
723
210
88
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi juice course meal breakfast and dinner tour group underfloor heating native bush franz joseph both nights comfortable beds retreat glacier west coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

This beautiful hotel felt like an Alpine ski chalet in a forest complete with roaring log fires and earthy colour palette in the decor and furnishings. It is made very special by the staff particularly Rohan , the Manager who could not have been more charming and helpful and Jean , a very obliging Frenchman who looked after our luggage and served us drinks later in the bar. The breakfast buffet was very good but at this level I think egg based dishes should be cooked to order.
It is very situated close to the small town and the Canopy Restaurant served excellent food ( see separate review )
Our room was a Deluxe King with a balcony virtually in the forest and was large and well appointed with both shower and bath. Highly recommended for a short stay. Hikers might however be looking for better spa facilities such as sauna or steam room for aching muscles. This would be a very welcome addition.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really can find little fault with this hotel. We drove straight into the car park - no need for the valet service that I saw from some reviews some folks felt was obligatory - its not. Our room was ground floor in a middle room but was quiet (maybe we were lucky - maybe it is well built). Rooms are not huge but adequate. Bathroom excellent with huge tub. We ate in one night and the meal was superb (smaller portions but great quality so we left felling that we had enjoyed a very good meal and wine without filling "stuffed"). They were very willing to adjust one of the courses for dietary considerations. Breakfast was a fair selection though one morning they had run out of skim / trim milk. Coffee - as for many NZ hotels - barista at cost or poor machine. Since the only decaf option was barista - they kindly waived any charge for me. Would stay again for the peace and location. We drove to local hikes and had a couple of good walks with wonderful views.

Room tip: Just to be safe - book an upper level room
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024 via mobile

Really very disappointing. With the exception of some really nice guys dealing with the car and luggage, the staff were disinterested and diffident.
The bed was uncomfortable, the food like school dinners, breakfast awful buffet style with no one keeping an eye on whether items needed replenishing AND tinned fruit for heaven’s sake!
And as for the fire alarm and evacuation caused by the thunderstorm that evening, there was a complete lack of management and no clear procedures at all, this must be addressed as a matter of urgency.
The one positive, we were only there for one night…

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

Not what most people would describe as a 5 star hotel, reminded me of a nice Best Western in the US.
Staff was pleasant, surrounded by rain forest!
Rooms were clean, but on the small side, buffet breakfast was best left alone.,
But, considering the remote area, was probably the best option available.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 2302lacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2024

Great hotel, view from room was like bing in the middle of a forest amazing, the hotel is very eco friendly, no plastic room keys.

Choice at breakfast was brilliant, nothing too much trouble for staff, had kiwi welcome drink and hot flannel, brollies to borrow when we wanted to venture out in the rain, complimentary water for room and apples on reception. A very welcoming hotel

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ethel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews