We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
672
196
75
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
672
196
75
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi juice degustation dinner valet parking course meal welcome drink new zealand hot pools duty manager underfloor heating beautiful room tour group an upgrade native bush two nights franz joseph bathroom floor comfortable rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Of course a trip to Westland may coincide with lots of rain but it was actually rather calming to be in the lovely rooms of Te Waonui Forest retreat set right in the forest, listening to and watching the rain. It’s a great hotel with very welcoming and helpful staff; the lounge with signature fireplace serves excellent cocktails; good food too in the restaurant. An excellent therapist too, so I took advantage of the indoor option to enjoy a wonderful facial.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lynner842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Lynne
Thank you for your review, pleased to read that you enjoyed all the facilities that Te Waonui has to offer
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Te Awanui Forest Retreat, Franz Josef at the end of March 2021. We had planned on two nights but so enjoyed the hotel, spectacular scenery and restful environment that we stayed a third. The duty manager Umesh was outstanding with his welcome, professionalism and local information. He and other staff members went out of their way to help and made our short stay feel like a true holiday. The restaurant and facilities were excellent, the rooms were clean and everything was of a high standard. It was very clear that the manager and staff took pride in their workplace. We would definitely recommend Te Awanui Forest Retreat and look forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nickggreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Nick
Thank you for your review, pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and service and for acknowledging one of our team members.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

An awesome stay made all the more special due to an upgrade by the Scenic Hotels! The staff especially Mr Umesh Shinde at the Front Office/ Duty Manager was knowledgeable, professional and customer focussed. The room was well organised and clean and the amenities comfortable.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famskawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Famskawd
Thank you for your review, pleased that you had a great stay with us, also for acknowledging one of our team members
All the best
Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

This is one of the most amazing resort stays we have experienced in NZ. a very warm welcome into a beauitul timber lodge with a fire going and someone playing the piano. everyone very friendly and helpful. loved that all the bedrooms have their own decks and you feel like you are in the middle of the forest.

VERY LUCKY

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJNattrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi KJNattrass
Thank you for your review, pleased that you could experience Te Waonui and had a great time
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021

We were so lucky on a recent West Coast holiday to be upgraded from our original booking at the Scenic Hotel next door to the beautiful Te Waonui Forest Retreat. The staff were very friendly and helpful - right from our welcome with a cold drink and hot towel. Our room, with the patio in the bush, was beautiful - well appointed, lovely comfy bed, beautiful linens, fabulous bathroom etc. Because we'd been so spoilt, we opted to dine in the hotel restaurant one of our nights there and had a wonderful meal. It's so sad to see Franz Josef hurting so badly with the pandemic. We were happy to support the town by pushing the boat out and doing a glacier helicopter trip which was a massive highlight of our holiday. We had a 5* plus holiday in this piece of paradise.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lelonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi lel
Thank you for your review, glad that you could experience our hotel and thank you supporting our town activities as it is much appreciated
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews