We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
670
196
75
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
670
196
75
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink hot pools duty manager beautiful room underfloor heating an upgrade two nights native bush franz joseph comfortable rooms in town south island small town two night stay stayed one night retreat canopy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2020

Our stay at Te Waonui was absolutely magical! Although it was only one night, the service was the best I've ever had and every staff member we encountered was very accommodating. Definitely a place I would go back to when I travel the South again!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank selina2052020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Hi Selina2052020

Thank you for your lovely review, I have passed your comments onto the team

All the best
BradM GM Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020

It was a treat to stay at this forest reteate Franz Joseph Thank you for the up grade and exceptional service. All great with delicious reasonably priced meals.
我们一组朋友在12、13号入住了酒店。酒店的staffs都很友好,
Mick 非常nice的给我介绍了早餐,在他令人愉快的接待中开启了我的一天!晚餐也给我们很多惊喜和支持!谢谢他为我们的旅程留下了美好的回忆!
Hopefully we will come back one day.

Cheers! All the best!

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank 898miax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Hi 89miax

Thank you for your kind review, glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us

All the best
BradM GM Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Service in the bar was brilliant we borrowed a scrabble game while having a cheese board and wine. Dinner followed with dessert and another bottle of wine. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gluemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Hi Gluemaker

Thankyou for your review. Pleased that the team delivered a memorable experience for you

All the best
BradM GM Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2020

From the minute we arrived at this hotel, I knew I wanted to stay longer.
Te Waonui Forest Retreat is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.
The setting is perfect, our room is quiet and looks out on beautiful NZ native forest.
The room is beautifully furnished with a very comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom with underfloor heating.
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant and also explored the local cafes and bars, only a few minutes walk away.
The staff are all friendly and helpful.
I hope to return one day for a much longer stay.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Hi Sally G

Great to read that you enjoyed our hotel and that we delivered a great guest experience for you
All the best
BradM GM Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2020 via mobile

It was a treat to stay at this beautiful hotel nestled in the native bush with amazing views of the snow capped mountains. Thank you for the up grade and exceptional service. All great with delicious reasonably priced meals.

I thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank babe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Hi Babe56

Thank you for your review. Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our part of the country
All the best
Brad M GM Te Waonui Forest retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews