We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Glacier Helicopters
from US$251.00
More Info
from US$195.22
More Info
from US$195.22
More Info
from US$251.00
More Info
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
544
46
7
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
544
46
7
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow landing once in a lifetime minute flight bucket list an amazing experience great pilot weather conditions helicopter trip ground crew blue sky worth every cent next morning south island cancelled due fox photos company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

OMG. So amazing. We did the twin glacier tour which included an stop on the top of Franz Josef. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed every second. There were five of us in the helicopter. Obviously the best view would be the front followed by passenger side in the back if you’re wanting to take photos as the drivers side has a split door that is a little tricky to photograph around but the whole experience is just incredible. I couldn’t believe how much the glacier had moved in just a day as it had snowed the day before and you could clearly see the cracks caused by the movement. We found this company great to work with too as a couple of days out from our original booking we saw the weather forecast so rang them. They confirmed bad weather was incoming and said if you can get here by later in the afternoon they would pop us on another flight. Good decision as there was no flights the day of our original booking or the day after. Great friendly service

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank travelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hello travelbunny and thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and service, we will always endeavor and rebook you onto a flight, we also try to keep an updated copy of the local weather situation for the following days. We agree that it is an incredible experience and hope you got some amazing photos. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope you enjoyed your trip on the West Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Highlight of our NZ trip to date! Something is going to have to be pretty awesome to beat that!
We had booked for a 10am flight which was cancelled due to weather, then rescheduled for 1pm also cancelled, tried again at 5pm and made it!! (this is where staying the night is handy!)
Rusty was our pilot and all the staff we dealt with were fantastic! Great work guys!
The snow landing was absolutely spectacular, we watched the sun set and got some incredible photos! We couldn't recommend these guys highly enough! Hope to come back one day

Thank SunsetsnStorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello Samantha D and thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you got to eventually get on a flight with us, so we thank you for being patient with the weather. We have passed on your kind words to Rusty and the rest of our ground crew, thanks for the feedback! We agree that the snow landing is amazing, made even better by the fact you were lucky enough to see the sun low in the sky. Thanks again for your positive feedback and all your recommendations and we hope you enjoyed your time on the West Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

From the first phone call these guys were awesome. I planned on proposing on the landing and they noted this on the booking. Originally booked the Mt Cook Spectacular but due to weather they quickly rearranged the booking for the Twin Glaciers to get us up in the air. We were nervous with it being our first heli flight but the pilot was great and it was super smooth. The views are unbelievable and really puts it into perspective how big those glaciers are. We stopped on Fox Glacier and it was an awesome spot to pop the question. The pilot took a few photos which was great for us to remember the moment. Upon landing we found out that it was really touch n go with the weather but due to the circumstances they flew for us which was awesome (Id been trying to get into one at Te Anau and Queenstown but the weather wasnt playing ball). We were the last flight of the day. My partner absolutely loved it and words can't describe what a perfect moment it was. This was thanks to the whole team at Glacier Heli - from booking to the shuttle to the flight with Rich it was an amazing experience. Thanks so much for making it happen - we'll remember it for years!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LukeT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello LukeT123 and thank you for your fantastic review. Although the weather wasn’t ideal for the flight you had chosen, we are glad that we could get you on a flight and get a snow landing. Congratulations on your engagement, we don’t think you could’ve chosen a better place for it! We have passed on your kind words about Rich’s photography to him, as well as the rest of the team. We’re glad we could look after you so well for your special day! Thanks again for your review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time on the West Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

A wonderful experience. Fabulous flight with breathtaking scenery. A must do activity as the opportunity to stand on a glacier does not occur very often

Thank janen502
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello Jane N and thank you for your review. We are so happy that we could provide you with such a wonderful experience and that you got to enjoy the incredible scenery on the Glacier. We agree it’s a once in a lifetime experience and feel privileged that we could provide this for you. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope your enjoyed your time on the West Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Expensive half our ($320 X 4 persons), but what an experience. The view is totaly amazing and the glacier landing is just crazy

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank visitorfromquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hello visitorfromquebec and thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the views on the Glacier and that you found it an incredible experience. We agree that landing a helicopter on a Glacier is an incredible experience and we are happy that we got to share that with you. Thanks again for your review and we hope you enjoyed that rest of your time on the West Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews