We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
This experience was unreal!!

We had incredible weather which allowed us to see both Mount Tasman and Mount Cook from the air... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Pavma00p
Lifetime experience

A must do experience when in the Glacier country. Our pilot Tim is extremely knowledgeable and has... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
678janetj
,
New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 598 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Franz Josef
from US$209.66
More Info
from US$361.38
More Info
from US$262.82
More Info
from US$354.08
More Info
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
529
46
7
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
529
46
7
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow landing once in a lifetime bucket list minute trip an amazing experience great pilot ground staff weather conditions heli flight next morning south island cancelled due fox clouds glacier office commentary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We had booked a 45 minute tour to take us from Franz Josef, over both glaciers and around Mount Cook with a snow landing. This was the longest and most expensive trip. When we arrived, in plenty of time for our 10:20 flight, the weather was cloudy after overnight rain and we were prepared to be disappointed, but after a short wait and the arrival of another couple who wanted the same deal, we were able to take off. Due to weight restrictions there were only the four of us, which was fantastic.
We soared up the Franz Josef Glacier, looking down on the crevasses and seeing how 'ice-blue' it was, circled the peaks of Mount Cook and Mount Tasman, before landing on a snowfield that was so huge the other helicopters looked like toys! They took off and we were completely alone. Fantastic! The pilot took our photo with our own camera, and also one for the souvenir folder (which cost an extra $20).
The scenery was out of this world; the pilot was friendly and very informative; we didn't feel rushed; the sun above the clouds shone in a clear blue sky and it was an experience of a lifetime!
I would thoroughly recommend you choose this activity.
My only disappointment was that I couldn't take my iPad on board so had to rely on my husband's photos.

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Hi There
Thank you for the fantastic feedback it is great to hear that you really enjoyed your trip with us. It is hard to fathom the scale of the area without experiencing it first hand so it is very understandable that the helicopters appeared like toys!

Regards the team at Glacier Helicopters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Had an awesome flight over Franz and Fox glaciers on Tuesday with our pilot "Horse"!! Couldnt have asked for better weather and with Andrew being a big fella, only four passengers with him so after the landing we could move seats enabling all wonderful views.
Highly recommended, and do book ahead to avoid disappointment as weather can change. We checked out of our room and straight in for pre-booked flight!!

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank JoG202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

We appreciate the awesome feedback and are glad the West Coast provided you with such amazing weather for your flight.

Thanks again from the team at Glacier Helicopters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We went on the trip to the Franz Josef Glacier and we chose the longest ride,which was 45 minutes in all It was obviously fairly expensive, but on having completed the journey,I would say it was well worth the money.
I found the trip to be all I expected and more,in fact I was very excited about it when I had landed.
We had great views over the glacier and landed on Fox Glacier and also flew around the back of Mount Cook.
All in all an amazing experience I would really recommend to anyone visiting New Zealand.

Date of experience: January 2013
1  Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you for the feedback, we are glad you had such an amazing time with us.
Your flight is definitely one that enables you to take in the scenery to its fullest.
We hope you have some great pictures of your experience with Glacier Helicopters.
Thanks again from the team at Glacier Helicopters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I have been dreaming of taking a helicopter flight for as long as I can remember, I've come close on a couple of occasions but plans had slipped through. This time I was in Franz Joseph on New Zealand's West Coast and Glacier Helicopters made my dream a reality. It was raining and gloomy that day and as I walked into town I thought this is just my luck, problably wont be able to fly due to the weather. Not so - the team at the main street office said all systems were go and the afternoon looked to improve. Trouble was I was by myself, and you are looking at $1k plus per hour to charter a private flight. Glacier Helicopters took my number and around lunch time they called to say that another couple had booked a flight and I was welcome to join. I had to race to get my camera and made it back just in time. We got airbourne, the Pilot was a very friendly guy who soon got the condensation off the winsdreens and you could see the township shrinking below us. Pretty soon we were heading up the gorge towards the Glacier, seeing the native trees on our right and flying right on the verge of massive cliffs. The ice looked like a postcard once we got above the clouds, then you see a tiny shadow of the chopper moving over the ice below and you realise the immense size of the Glacier.

This was all fantastic but the best was yet to come. We soared over the top of Fox Glacier and passed over the ridge surrounded by mysterious jagged snow covered mountain peaks with a backdrop of clear blue sky. The 3D immersion of being in the chopper surrounded by glass windows was like nothing else I have ever experienced. My camera was clicking and filming and I got some great footage which I enjoy reviwing, but it is not quite the same as being there for real. We landed on the neive atop Franz Joseph and played in the snow for a bit, venturing out to beyond the landing circle to make new foot prints was cool until I got stuck and had to roll out of the stuff knee deep!! We then travelled back down via Franz Joseph Glacier for the most increadible round trip. And this was one of their shorter Helicopter flight options!
Can't wait to come back one day and do another flight with these guys - amazing stuff ///

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank Kim_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Couldn't fault it from booking to landing back on the ground staff were brilliant, pilot very friendly and informative, even takes your photo with your camera for you. Sights fantastic

Thank MazzyFrodsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the fantastic feedback.
We are so glad you enjoyed your flight and we hope you've got some fantastic photos.

From the team at Glacier Helicopters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews