We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janet C
Oakville, Canada

Fantastic ...A+

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2019via mobile
The perfect B&B, a gorgeous view of Fox Glacier, gardens and a wonderful hostess, Karen, greeted us with enthusiasm. Coffee and tea offered after viewing our spotless and spacious rooms, with many helpful suggestions to make our visit perfect. She happily booked a helicopter tour and dinner reservations. The next morning we enjoyed a fabulous custom breakfast with some other guests. Karen is very knowledgeable and made suggestions once she listened and understood our itinerary. Our delightful hostess is just what we needed, a real taste of New Zealand. Thanks K2❤️
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
1.4 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Free parking
                  Front of the House again
1.0 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
2.1 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
2.1 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Keep away from this place, cheap it doesn't mean unhealthy! Unfortunately in those picture you c
2.0 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Bar/Lounge
reception area
1.9 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial View
2.0 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.1 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Free parking
2.1 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.6 km from Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
151
38
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
151
38
7
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2019

We enjoyed our stay here pretty much. Although owner Karen may seem to be a serious and solemn person at first, it's the thoughtfulness and hospitality she demonstrated during check-in did we genuinely feel. She was willing to spend half an hour just to briefly go through the premises, the township, the recommended timeframe to visit Lake Matheson, and all the other helpful tips. Mountainview B&B is just 3 minutes drive from downtown, and only 5 minutes drive to the famous Lake Matheson. You can even get the best lookout spot for Mt Cook with another 5 minutes drive.

The room is quite cosy and tidy, however the only thing we did slightly complain about is the linen seem to be little bit humid when we opened the bed sheet. There is a booklet inside the room, prepared by Karen, to help you better understand the surrounding area as well as the location and opening hours of the shops, restaurants, and activities. The breakfast is hot and tasty, with continental one available if you are in a hurry. It's really lovely to stay here for a few nights, greeted by numerous cows in the morning, and above all, to witness the exact beauty of Mt Cook.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seanliutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

We didn’t book any accommodation and found Karen by chance. At 8pm she was able to give us a fabulous cottage with a very comfortable bed, heated floors and heated towel rack! The view of the mountain and sunset/ sunrise were incredible here. Karen is a HUGE wealth of knowledge and is well connected in the area. She told us to go to the lake to grab a mirror reflection as well as eat dinner there which was absolutely the best food in Fox. To top it all off, Karen homecooked our breakfast to order and it was absolutely delicious!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Allison-Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Karen, our host, greeted us on arrival with tea and biscuits and loads of helpful advice on area hikes and sights to see. Our room was clean, spacious, and cozy. We woke up to a clear view of the southern alps, just outside our door! Breakfast was filling and tasty. Highly recommend this B&B!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BackPacker374555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2018

You will not find a more helpful owner then Karen. She knows how to get the best out of your stay in Fox Glacier based on the weather conditions. Our room had a great view and was very large and roomy. Great stay!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMR555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Can only recommend this accommodation. Nice place, nice and comfortable rooms and very nice support and advices from the hostess!! You will not miss any tip about what needs to be done in the region and on your way to your next stop.. Anything that made our short stay in fox glacier perfect.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 413franckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews