We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss the frangipanier”
Review of Matheson Cafe

Matheson Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy unsurpassed views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman whilst dining at our contemporary style café at the entrance to the Lake Matheson Walkway. Open 7 days from 8am for breakfast, brunch and lunch, and open for dinner in peak summer season. Comfortable indoor seating and expansive deck area. Adjacent to the cafe is the ReflectioNZ Gifts and Gallery offering a range of high quality Kiwiana products, clothing and souvenirs. Lake Matheson is one of New Zealand's most scenic icons. Situated on the West Coast of the South Island, in the heart of Glacier Country and Westland National Park, the Lake Matheson walk is a must do attraction for all visitors to Fox Glacier & Franz Josef Glacier. 'Picture Perfect' reflections of New Zealand's highest peaks Mt Cook & Mt Tasman can be captured in the dark waters of this ancient lake formed by the retreat of the Fox Glacier. A trip to Lake Matheson is simply not complete without a visit to Matheson Cafe and ReflectioNZ Gifts and Gallery.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss the frangipanier”
Reviewed 12 March 2017

it was a real pleasure to sit after an hour walk around Lake Matheson and enjoy the view as well as a good Cappuccino and an amazing Frangipani.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rilotf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    334
    73
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice end to a lovely walk”
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We had a late lunch in this restaurant and sat outside in the sun. Very nice meal with friendly waiting staff.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godstone
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food with great views”
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We ate here on both nights we stayed in Fox. It was recommended by our B&B and the food was great with brilliant views as the clouds lifted and Mount Cook appeared bathed in the setting sun. We had lunch and coffee there too - and the staff were friendly and efficient and coped with my partner's pickiness with generosity of spirit - swapping sides between main courses so he didn't have to eat polenta! Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Jewel In Little Fox Glacier ”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Our innkeepers confirmed TA rating of #1 for Fox Glacier. The rain added to the ambiance. Our waiter from Germany was gracious and efficient. They made a green salad that was not on the menu. We shared short ribs and garlic bread. Also a bottle of Cab-Malbec-Merlot blend that was okay. Overall a very pleasant experience. Would return.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank johnhazlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great coffee and view of the Glacier.”
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Lake Matheson is like a picture with the background of 3 peek of mount Cook with snow on the top. The service was good and so was the Cappuccino.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matheson99, Front of House Manager at Matheson Cafe, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Hi Harry,

Thanks for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the views and the visit to the cafe. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matheson Cafe also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Matheson Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing