We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
142
147
39
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
147
39
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson the main road the kitchen two nights views of the mountains great place to stay only stayed one night unit motel fox town kitchenette viewpoint helicopter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Only stayed one night but very happy with this motel. Our 2 bedroom unit was very spacious - every room - and had great heating. Great location. Nice grounds. Loved the cat and dog. Owner gave us great advise about the best viewpoint for the ice!!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nzsteve1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2021

Very nice comfortable motel with friendly service and great views of the mountains. Shower is very hot, room warm, bed very comfortable, short walk to town. Lovely spot to stay with at least 4 restaurants to eat, lots of walks and recommend the helicopter glacier walk. Could easily spend 5 nights here, and recommend at least 2-3. Come visit now before the international tourists return which I am sure they will do in droves...

Room tip: All the rooms have good views and looked good.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2021 via mobile

We booked a one bed unit for two nights . The unit was very spacious indeed. Spotlessly clean and the kitchen was very well equipped , which suited us perfectly as we like to self cater . A good selection of teas and some excellent coffee grounds were supplied .
It was cool and rainy while we were there ,but the heaters kept the place nice and toasty .
The shower water pressure is off the scale. One of the best showers we have ever had . The bed was large and extremely comfortable with the added bonus of an electric blanket .
The location is excellent .A very short stroll into the small township with a beautiful mountain backdrop.
The owner is very friendly and helpful (and the dog is gorgeous )
Highly recommended .

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2021

Stayed for 2 nights . Owned and operated by a good “ kiwi” bloke . Check in was easy
The room was pretty basic but had everything we needed
Not as clean as we normally expect and could do with some R & M
Unfortunately the bed was uncomfortable and the stunning unusually hot weather during our stay with no aircon in the room added to the discomfort.
However if you are on limited budget I’d recommend rainforest motel
The owners dog is a bit of a character and very friendly as is the owner himself

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hondarider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2020

We stayed three nights and found this motel excellent; even more so since we were travelling with our dog. Very friendly, nothing was a bother. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. Great view of the mountains from the property (weather permitting), refer to photo.. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 393LuC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews