We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Hotels.com
US$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$57
View deal
Expedia.comUS$75
PricelineUS$63
eDreamsUS$76
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
141
146
39
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
141
146
39
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson few minutes walk great view of the mountains bed was comfortable within walking distance the kitchen two nights sky tv electric blankets new zealand short drive road trip night stay unit motel town accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a one bed unit for two nights . The unit was very spacious indeed. Spotlessly clean and the kitchen was very well equipped , which suited us perfectly as we like to self cater . A good selection of teas and some excellent coffee grounds were supplied .
It was cool and rainy while we were there ,but the heaters kept the place nice and toasty .
The shower water pressure is off the scale. One of the best showers we have ever had . The bed was large and extremely comfortable with the added bonus of an electric blanket .
The location is excellent .A very short stroll into the small township with a beautiful mountain backdrop.
The owner is very friendly and helpful (and the dog is gorgeous )
Highly recommended .

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021

Stayed for 2 nights . Owned and operated by a good “ kiwi” bloke . Check in was easy
The room was pretty basic but had everything we needed
Not as clean as we normally expect and could do with some R & M
Unfortunately the bed was uncomfortable and the stunning unusually hot weather during our stay with no aircon in the room added to the discomfort.
However if you are on limited budget I’d recommend rainforest motel
The owners dog is a bit of a character and very friendly as is the owner himself

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hondarider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2020

We stayed three nights and found this motel excellent; even more so since we were travelling with our dog. Very friendly, nothing was a bother. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. Great view of the mountains from the property (weather permitting), refer to photo.. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 393LuC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2020

We stayed at this lovely motel in Fox Glacier. You never know what you will get when you pull into a new motel, but wow, this was the best little motel we stayed at in the South Island, it was the cheapest too!
The owners were so kind and helpful, full of local advice.
The room was perfect, comfy beds, electric blankets, heaters, Sky TV, full kitchen, lovely big bathroom with the strongest shower I have had in a motel.
There was no noise at night whatsoever, and we slept so well.
Just down the road is Lake Matheson, and the view point for Fox Glacier as well.
Also just back up the road to the intersection is a restaurant called "Cook and Saddle" where we had a delicious meal.
Also this Motel has a pet friendly room, so our little Maltese could stay with us.
The owner has a friendly labrador that welcomes you to the motel.
So if you want a quiet and comfy motel in Fox Glacier, Rainforest Motel fits the bill completely.

Room tip: Any room is quiet and peaceful
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellettboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. Very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was excellent..spacious, clean, modern, comfortable beds, an excellent shower and bathroom. Easy parking right next to the room. All motels should be like this.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews