We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heli hike”

Fox Glacier Guiding
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less crowded glacier. It is one of New Zealand's truly natural wonders. Whether you are walking, heli-hiking or ice-climbing with us in this incredible environment, we can promise you a memory you'll cherish. We have a long guiding history on the glacier (guided walks first started in 1928). Those years of accumulated knowledge and experience mean weare able to guide you with complete confidence. You can rest assured we take your safety and comfort very seriously. Come and enjoy our friendly West Coast hospitality, experience the mighty Fox Glacier with us and create a lifetime memory. We have glacier trips suitable for most fitness levels and ages including children from 9 yrs. Our informative Glacier Terminal Face walk is suitable for children from 5 yrs or for those who would find the walks onto the glacier too strenuous.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heli hike”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Fantastic tour, guide was amazing, very informative and the helicopter experience was great. We had a great day. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sheryle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    158
    48
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
470 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,315 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed our heli-hike. Everything was very professional with an emphasis on safety. Sarah from Quebec was a great guide.

Note that a lot of the trips get cancelled due to weather. We were originally scheduled for an 9:00 flight that got cancelled but were able to make it on the noon flight. You should try to have some flexibility with your schedule if the help-hike trip is important to you. My guess is that the 9:00 flights probably get cancelled the most frequently since fog is typically more of an issue in the morning.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The guides were great fun, informative, and took safety very seriously, whilst clearly enjoying their jobs and time with tourists. I LOVED my first trip in a helicopter and it was a treat and an experience of a lifetime to be able to trek across a glacier. The online booking was easy, location easy to find, the town has accommodation and a mini-mart. Bonus that the guides have all the equipment you require when your packed for your sunny holiday! Book at least 1-2 days in advance online to avoid disappointment.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank EmilyU7H8B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“great glacier exploration !”
Reviewed 12 March 2017

2017, Feb 18, We, my wife and I , no experience on climbing and glacier hiking, have a good time on glacier and have a lot of fun, its a unforgettable experience, we are so happy and lucky to joint "extreme fox" and spend 6 hrs on ice....

we are normal people and not athlete, we can finish the hiking, no problem at all!

Strong recommend joint "extreme glacier hiking" , you won't regret !

Friendly and good tour guide, Cam!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank toluene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenes! Precious life experience with passionate guides!”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We’re in group of 6 people from Hong Kong and Taiwan. With no doubt, the Fox Glacier Heli-hike was the most memorable experience in our New Zealand holiday!
From gear up with boots, coats, backpacks and showing how to wear the crampons, we've met passionate and professional staffs all along at Fox. We're so much appreciate the warm welcome from the staff- Sam, and our guide at glacier- Philip for his kindness and doing his best to show us different aspects of the glacier.
If you decide to experience a glacier walk, I trust Fox glacier guiding would be your best choice!

我們4人來自香港,與兩位台灣朋友參加Fox 冰河健行活動,這絕對是我們行程中最深刻最懷念的經歷!
從整理裝備,到指導我們穿冰爪鞋,Fox的團隊都充份展現他們的專業與熱誠。特別感謝Sam對我們6 人熱情的接待,與及在冰河上的領隊Philip,不斷帶領我們去窺探冰河不同的面貌,也對我們非常的親切!
如果你計劃要作冰河健行體驗,我相信 Fox glacier guiding 會是你必然的選擇!

Greetings and comments from Taiwan:

"We strongly recommend Fox Glacier. Simon know we are afraid of flying up to the glacier so he draw a smile face on our hand. He is so professional that ease the tension. Furthermore the tour leader Philip, he is also very kind and professional. This experience is so wonderful and the staff are all so good at their job. We even can see the passion on them. All in all,our first time of this glacier tour is full of enjoyment and also give us a beautiful memory during our honeymoon. Thank you all again."

Thank you to Fox team with Love from Hong Kong❤
Miranda :D

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 6 Stub App Smartphone

Helpful?
1 Thank 美蓮達
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox Glacier Guiding also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing