We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic walk thru Fox Glacier with superb guides”

Fox Glacier Guiding
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less crowded glacier. It is one of New Zealand's truly natural wonders. Whether you are walking, heli-hiking or ice-climbing with us in this incredible environment, we can promise you a memory you'll cherish. We have a long guiding history on the glacier (guided walks first started in 1928). Those years of accumulated knowledge and experience mean weare able to guide you with complete confidence. You can rest assured we take your safety and comfort very seriously. Come and enjoy our friendly West Coast hospitality, experience the mighty Fox Glacier with us and create a lifetime memory. We have glacier trips suitable for most fitness levels and ages including children from 9 yrs. Our informative Glacier Terminal Face walk is suitable for children from 5 yrs or for those who would find the walks onto the glacier too strenuous.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic walk thru Fox Glacier with superb guides”
Reviewed 6 March 2017

As first timers on glaciers, we wanted a guided tour that could handle our shortage of experience. We found the perfect match with Fox Glacier Guiding. Everything was professionally handled, salted with the right mix of humor. We had an unforgettable trip and would highly recommend them to everyone. A special shout-out to Ross, our guide for the day. He provided us a lot of interesting info on the glaciers themselves, while ensuring the group's safety at all times. By the end of the tour, we were old hands at this :) Looking forward to our next trip.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepanjanChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    158
    48
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An outstanding experience with phenomenal tour guides”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

My group of six loved our Fox glacier hike. Blake was our guide and he MADE the experience! He showed us countless incredible ice forms including a waterfall, tiny geyser-like thing, a big ice cave, and a tiny ice cave we slithered through which made the exploring all the more exhilarating. My group included English and Chinese speakers, and Blake impressed us all with his outstanding Chinese while ensuring that everyone in the group had a jolly good time while staying safe on the ice.

Additionally, the helicopter ride was amazing, with breathtaking scenery all around. We were given all the gear we needed including legit thick socks, tramping boots, a waterproof jacket, and a waterproof backpack. The introduction/safety briefing was smooth and comprehensive, and when we returned to the site the wrap up was seamless as well.

Long story short, make sure you do the tour with Fox Glacier Guiding! It was easily one of the highlights of our two week exploration of the south island.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great! Even for those that have been on glaciers before”
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We were with group of 10 friedns on a helihike. Almost each one of us used to walk on glaciers in Himalayas but still tour was one of highlights of whole NZ road trips. Perfectly organized, informative guide and a lot of fun on the glacier.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Marcin_Mentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
307 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic morning on Fox glacier”
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Helihike with guide Danny was outstanding from start to finish. We were blessed with perfect weather: not a single cloud and no wind. Danny was informative and safety-conscious and showed us some wonderful features on the glacier including a beautiful ice arch. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE highlight of our whole NZ road trip :D”
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We took a heli-hike on Fox Glacier a couple of weeks ago. Our guide was Phil, such a friendly, lovely and professional young guide! We are tight on money so considered the heli hike for a long time, but I can assure you that it was worth saving every penny for this experience. It was our first take taking the helicopter in such an incredible scenery, flying above the township, pastures and straight into the glacier, seing the previous group all tiny on the ice, landing, then walking for a good 4 hours on the ice, then taking the heli again! Phil made us walk inside wonderful blue ice formations, walk through arches, go higher on the ice, drink pure water... This is really the only way to experience the glaciers, as walking to the terminal face only can be "meh" or "not enough" for some. There is no way you can't love the heli tour. I'm still moved whenever I think about it ^^ About which glacier to choose, we chose Fox because it's less touristy, less crowded, and the township felt less like a tourist-trap that Franz Joseph. But I guess both are awesome once on the ice. Thank you so much to our guide!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sevy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
We appreciate the effort and thought that went into considering the value of our Flying Fox: Heli Hike experience prior to your decision to join us. We appreciate that it is a big investment and glad to read you have taken away some lovely memories of it.

You brought up the walk to the terminal face and you are right if people are wanting to explore the ice, see the dramatic upper icefall, the Victoria falls from the hidden Victoria glacier and the white ice there is no comparison. All of this is higher up around a bend in the glacier which is unable to be viewed from the bottom of the Fox valley floor. The glacier in this area has retreated and the valley walls have collapsed in covering the ice with moraine and debris, so looks dirty. This cover does slow the rate of retreat so is a positive in that respect.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it and we will pass on your thanks to Phil.

Best Regards
Jo
On Behalf of the Fox Glacier Guiding Team







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox Glacier Guiding also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing