We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE highlight of our whole NZ road trip :D”

Fox Glacier Guiding
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less crowded glacier. It is one of New Zealand's truly natural wonders. Whether you are walking, heli-hiking or ice-climbing with us in this incredible environment, we can promise you a memory you'll cherish. We have a long guiding history on the glacier (guided walks first started in 1928). Those years of accumulated knowledge and experience mean weare able to guide you with complete confidence. You can rest assured we take your safety and comfort very seriously. Come and enjoy our friendly West Coast hospitality, experience the mighty Fox Glacier with us and create a lifetime memory. We have glacier trips suitable for most fitness levels and ages including children from 9 yrs. Our informative Glacier Terminal Face walk is suitable for children from 5 yrs or for those who would find the walks onto the glacier too strenuous.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We took a heli-hike on Fox Glacier a couple of weeks ago. Our guide was Phil, such a friendly, lovely and professional young guide! We are tight on money so considered the heli hike for a long time, but I can assure you that it was worth saving every penny for this experience. It was our first take taking the helicopter in such an incredible scenery, flying above the township, pastures and straight into the glacier, seing the previous group all tiny on the ice, landing, then walking for a good 4 hours on the ice, then taking the heli again! Phil made us walk inside wonderful blue ice formations, walk through arches, go higher on the ice, drink pure water... This is really the only way to experience the glaciers, as walking to the terminal face only can be "meh" or "not enough" for some. There is no way you can't love the heli tour. I'm still moved whenever I think about it ^^ About which glacier to choose, we chose Fox because it's less touristy, less crowded, and the township felt less like a tourist-trap that Franz Joseph. But I guess both are awesome once on the ice. Thank you so much to our guide!

Thank Sevy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

We appreciate the effort and thought that went into considering the value of our Flying Fox: Heli Hike experience prior to your decision to join us. We appreciate that it is a big investment and glad to read you have taken away some lovely memories of it.

You brought up the walk to the terminal face and you are right if people are wanting to explore the ice, see the dramatic upper icefall, the Victoria falls from the hidden Victoria glacier and the white ice there is no comparison. All of this is higher up around a bend in the glacier which is unable to be viewed from the bottom of the Fox valley floor. The glacier in this area has retreated and the valley walls have collapsed in covering the ice with moraine and debris, so looks dirty. This cover does slow the rate of retreat so is a positive in that respect.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it and we will pass on your thanks to Phil.

Best Regards
Jo
On Behalf of the Fox Glacier Guiding Team







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Went on the 2 hour walk to the Glacier. Our guide Fei, was considerate, knowledgeable and careful on our behalf. Two hours turned into 3.5hrs, so we got a lot more for our money.
Fascinating trip.

Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you for your review about the Fox Trail: Terminal Face Walk and your comment about your guide Fei. We will make sure he sees it, we know he will appreciate it.

Kind Regards
Jo
On Behalf of the Fox Glacier Guiding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Fox Glacier, also known as Glacier Country - the wild side of the west coast / South Island New Zealand. With Fox being the second of the 2 most accessible Glaciers in the country and sadly as it continues retreating, the 13km Glacier is now only reached Via Fox Glacier Guides that run activities envolving a helicopter landing due to its unstable nature at the terminal face - I went up on a heli hike, one I have done before but would do again and totally recommend to anyone.

Once Checked in we were quickly whisked away to the Heli Pad for the gear and Safety Briefing and departure to the Glacier. Once on the ice we were split into groups and our guide being Cam was fantastic and i guess you could say he has the Coolest Job in the World....

This was certainly a day to remember as it was charming blue sky's over the west coast that receives more than 200 days of rain a year. Blessed with a great guide, ice caves and crevasses.

I would totally recommend booking with Fox Glacier Guiding as i have done numerous activities with them and continue to come back for more -

One of the reasons what brings me back is it has everything that Frans Josef offers ONLY Smaller and less populated/ touristy - yes less tourist buses - Fantatic / Hallelujah -

Would i go back ? Yes for sure

Chancellor Dome Hut -

You guys totally rock out !!!!

Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Welcome back! What a day you had on the Flying Fox: Heli Hike with Cam.

You're right that the Fox Glacier township has a more village feel as opposed to the larger tourist centre of Franz Josef. We also find that some people do not realise that the Fox Glacier is actually larger than the Franz Josef so we feel very privileged to be able to have a larger operational space to explore on the ice.

We're glad that you enjoy the special Fox Glacier environment and look forward to you returning, you'll love the Chancellor Dome trip.

Best Regards
Jo Wisniewski
On Behalf of the Fox Glacier Guiding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

My top rated experience with my wife in all of New Zealand. Just know going in that there is a 50/50 chance the weather will cooperate with you, and hope for some luck! We were not so fortunate at first, our first reservation was canceled do to endless dark clouds and rain the first full day we were there. Thankfully, the next morning was nice enough to allow us to do the 4 hour Helli-Hike experience. So when you are booking, perhaps plan on an extra day or two to ensure the weather cooperates.

The experience was incredible. From the helicopter ride to the glacier, to the hiking around on the ice for a fast couple of hours, to the helicopter ride back, it was felt surreal and unique. I come from the Midwest of the USA, so I get snow a LOT, but this was very different. This will be as close as I get to hiking on Mt. Everest, and what an experience it was! Photos do not do it justice. The staff was excellent. THANK YOU for allowing us to bring along our cameras and keep these memories that will last a lifetime.

One request is perhaps for the team is we would have liked a video recap of the glacier before we took off to let us know more about how it formed. Our guide talked in detail, but a video walkthrough would have been even more helpful and easier to follow! Otherwise, perfect 10! Thanks so much Fox Glacier Guiding!

1  Thank Xfactor7483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

You're welcome!

Thank you for your lovely review and feedback about the video walk-through on how the glacier is formed. You're right a picture is worth a 1000 words. We'll take this suggestion back to our next team meeting for discussion.

Your advice about allowing time for rescheduling trips in case the weather does not "play ball" is very good advice. The changeable weather is most certainly inherent of our alpine environment.

Enjoy your photos and the lifelong memories you have taken away with you.

Best Regards
Jo Wisniewski
On Behalf of the Fox Glacier Guiding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Did the Heli Hike tour today and our guide Jules was fantastic! It's a short helicopter ride to the glacier and from their you get your spiked shoes and off you go. She explained how the glaciers move and change and answered all questions we had. Got to climb through a few ice caves and hit up an ice slide. Our tour the previous day was cancelled due to visibility but they rebooked us early am the next day.

Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox Glacier Guiding also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing