We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chancellor Hut overnight and iceclimb combo”

Fox Glacier Guiding
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less crowded glacier. It is one of New Zealand's truly natural wonders. Whether you are walking, heli-hiking or ice-climbing with us in this incredible environment, we can promise you a memory you'll cherish. We have a long guiding history on the glacier (guided walks first started in 1928). Those years of accumulated knowledge and experience mean weare able to guide you with complete confidence. You can rest assured we take your safety and comfort very seriously. Come and enjoy our friendly West Coast hospitality, experience the mighty Fox Glacier with us and create a lifetime memory. We have glacier trips suitable for most fitness levels and ages including children from 9 yrs. Our informative Glacier Terminal Face walk is suitable for children from 5 yrs or for those who would find the walks onto the glacier too strenuous.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Chancellor Hut overnight and iceclimb combo”
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This was a special combination of the Heli-hike with overnight stay combined with iceclimbing. Our guide Mike was fantastic, totally professional, informative and helpful. Absolutely stunning weather provided amazing views on Mt. Cook after our Alpine trek to Chancellor Dome. The overnight stay at Chancellor hut gave us the opportunity to see Kea and Tahr. The ice-climbing on the Fox Glacier was exhilarating and we just wanted to continue despite the incoming cloud and rain.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Peet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review, 16 January 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we were happy to read you had a great time and that you didn't want the experience to end!

Also, thank you for acknowledging your guide, Mike and the fabulous job he did. We know he will appreciate it.

Best Regards
Jo Wisniewski
On Behalf of the Fox Glacier Guiding Team





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    952
    162
    49
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A company that really doesn't care.”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

This company really doesn't care about its clients. They only decide if a trip is going forward 10 minutes before the due time but for the client cancelling is only possible 24 hours ahead, so you have to come even if on the phone they say it's very unlikely that the trip will go ahead. Truly a company that doesn't care about anything but your money.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadi_mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review, 13 January 2017
It is with regret that we read about your dissatisfaction around our cancellation process when we were experiencing bad weather conditions.

So far we have been experiencing the worst summer weather conditions for at least 12 years, this has been extremely challenging but our first consideration is and always be, safety.

It is also a priority for us to manage the expectations of our visitors to the best of our ability when environmental conditions conspire against us. We are acutely aware that many have traveled far and wide to get to us.

Because we operate in a changeable alpine environment our process is to assess weather conditions at check-in time for each experience. We have a dedicated, qualified weather person who is contacted at this time and decides whether the trip will go ahead. This process is communicated as much as possible prior to arrival through mediums such as our booking confirmations.

Nevertheless the learning from your review is that you were told on the phone that "it's very unlikely that the trip will go ahead", whereas you should have been told that the weather is inherently unpredictable requiring the weather call to be made at check in. Check-in is still 45 minutes away from fly time in the helicopter.

So thank you for your review and bringing to our attention an improvement in our communications which we will take into our training.

We also wish to acknowledge your disappointment and frustration, we understand this and hope the rest of your trip has gone smoothly.

Best Regards
Jo Wisniewski
On Behalf of the Fox Glacier Guiding Team





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Myself, my husband and our 12 year old daughter did the Fox Trail Terminal Face Walk. Much of, though not all, of the walk is accessible to the public without a guide. We however decided to go with Fox Glacier Guiding in the hope that we would learn something about the glacier. We were not disappointed our guide was funny, interesting, well informed and really made the whole experience more than just another walk. We took our own walking boots and coats however boots, socks, coats etc were included in the price of the walk for those who did not have their own.
We really enjoyed the whole experience and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank LBEN25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing Manager at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review, 13 January 2017
We're pleased to read that you were happy with your decision to join one of our Fox Trail:Terminal Face walks and that you had a good time.

Thank you also for acknowledging the value of this informative walk and your guide. Guiding work very hard and it has such a positive effect receiving this recognition.

All the best.
Jo Wisniewski
On Behalf of the Fox Glacier Guiding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Guide was amazing!”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We had this guy called Sean on our trip, and he was AMAZING! He knew his stuff, answered all our questions perfectly and knew all the cool caves to go in on the glacier.

Not only this, but he was an amazing guy, super friendly, and generally really fun to be around. He always had a smile on his face and seemed to love what he does.

We need more people like Sean in the guide business.
Just because of the calibre of guides, this trip is a 5 star. Don't even get me started on how beautiful the glacier is... ;)

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went for the free walk”
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Not necessary to do the guided tours. It is true that you do not get access to the "restricted" areas because they are deemed "unsafe" but still you will get a good hike which start from the Fox Glacier carpark. You will have access to a high point where you can see the Glacier. Even if you do the guided tours, you may not be able to walk on the Glacier so I'd rather just save 50 bucks and walk on my own.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank AloysiusMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox Glacier Guiding also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing