We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Fox Glacier Guiding tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fox Glacier
from US$187.70
More Info
from US$187.70
More Info
from US$187.70
More Info
from US$243.40
More Info
Reviews (1,409)
Filter reviews
1,367 results
Traveller rating
1,108
175
51
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,108
175
51
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heli hike ice climbing full day hike terminal face walk waterproof pants refund policy new zealand small group unique experience great guide blue ice hiking boots once in a lifetime full refund cancelled due guided walk south island
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 1,367 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We had this guy called Sean on our trip, and he was AMAZING! He knew his stuff, answered all our questions perfectly and knew all the cool caves to go in on the glacier.

Not only this, but he was an amazing guy, super friendly, and generally really fun to be around. He always had a smile on his face and seemed to love what he does.

We need more people like Sean in the guide business.
Just because of the calibre of guides, this trip is a 5 star. Don't even get me started on how beautiful the glacier is... ;)

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank ThomasW5927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Not necessary to do the guided tours. It is true that you do not get access to the "restricted" areas because they are deemed "unsafe" but still you will get a good hike which start from the Fox Glacier carpark. You will have access to a high point where you can see the Glacier. Even if you do the guided tours, you may not be able to walk on the Glacier so I'd rather just save 50 bucks and walk on my own.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank AloysiusMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This was definitely a trip highlight. Although it came with a hefty price tag, the experience of flying in a helicopter and seeing the glacier up close was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guides were friendly and knowledgable - would highly recommend this adventure to anyone visiting NZ!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Bec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Two of us did a terminal walk and were so grateful we paid for a tour on a rainy day. Guides took us further than general public, provided wet weather gear and were very friendly and knowledgable. Highly recommend especially if the weather is sub-par.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Very nice experience with Heli-Hike Fox Glacier : very friendly guide, amazing views. We had the chance to see it under a nice blue sky ! I highly recommend.
The only '-' is for some helicopter pilots who are not always really friendly.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank sophiecJ9994JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews