We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$140
Agoda.com
$116
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
83
67
33
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
67
33
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson accommodation options franz josef town motel fox
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2019

Comfortable back yard and basic equipment provided.
I would not say it was clean enough. There is no electrical socket in one bedroom or any bedside table in both bedrooms, which was real inconvenient.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YuiYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2019 via mobile

The hotel is situated halfway between the main road and restaurants and Lake Matheson. So depending on the weather, you may need to use the car to go and eat. The service is quite basic but the hotel and room was sparkling clean and there was an amazing shower and it was really comfortable and spacious

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

I did not like the approach of the hotel management. This is not the way they should do the business. We could not reach the hotel because of the mud slide which happened the previous night. The road was closed and we had to re-route as well as find another hotel. High Peaks hotel refused to refund the amount paid for the hotel room. They offered to book a room some other night (of course depending on the availability) but we were tight with the time as we had to leave New Zealand in a couple of days. I wrote one more e-mail to the hotel concerning the refund but they even did not bother to answer. This is not fair.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramune B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019 via mobile

Overpriced for what is offered at $195nzd.
Bathroom unclean with mould and dirty used facewasher hanging in shower.
Toilet has stains.
Teacups had not been cleaned.
It is the only accommodation we stayed in in Nz without a toaster or microwave. Did not even have any plates or bowls.
Very disappointed, I would not stay here again and not recommend it to others.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

This place is old, wore out, run down. WiFi barely functioned in bedroom. It’s overpriced to boot. I could go on and on. If you’re looking for a place that was built when your grandparents were young this is the place for you. Upon getting our room there was only a tiny bit of toilet roll left. No extra had go ask for more. Not to mention lack of English skills by staff. He was nice and polite though.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank W2583EIandrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews