We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$104
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kathryn H
Oxford, United Kingdom

Clean and convenient

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Apr 2019via mobile
The hotel is situated halfway between the main road and restaurants and Lake Matheson. So depending on the weather, you may need to use the car to go and eat. The service is quite basic but the hotel and room was sparkling clean and there was an amazing shower and it was really comfortable and spacious
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
$210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $210
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $210
1.2 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
reception area
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $90
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free parking
Motel Frontage
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $103
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $120
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $110
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $288
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
83
67
33
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
67
33
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson accommodation options franz josef town motel fox
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2019

I did not like the approach of the hotel management. This is not the way they should do the business. We could not reach the hotel because of the mud slide which happened the previous night. The road was closed and we had to re-route as well as find another hotel. High Peaks hotel refused to refund the amount paid for the hotel room. They offered to book a room some other night (of course depending on the availability) but we were tight with the time as we had to leave New Zealand in a couple of days. I wrote one more e-mail to the hotel concerning the refund but they even did not bother to answer. This is not fair.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramune B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019 via mobile

Overpriced for what is offered at $195nzd.
Bathroom unclean with mould and dirty used facewasher hanging in shower.
Toilet has stains.
Teacups had not been cleaned.
It is the only accommodation we stayed in in Nz without a toaster or microwave. Did not even have any plates or bowls.
Very disappointed, I would not stay here again and not recommend it to others.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

This place is old, wore out, run down. WiFi barely functioned in bedroom. It’s overpriced to boot. I could go on and on. If you’re looking for a place that was built when your grandparents were young this is the place for you. Upon getting our room there was only a tiny bit of toilet roll left. No extra had go ask for more. Not to mention lack of English skills by staff. He was nice and polite though.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank W2583EIandrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2018

Let me say something nice about this hotel. The views from outside are wonderful.

This is my first negative review on TripAdvisor - and I am very sorry for the establishment, but I have to be fair to other travellers - this place needs some serious management changes.

This is titled a HOTEL - not a MOTEL. However, a HOTEL should have a functioning dining room and a reception that is at least staffed when they say it should be. The price was high, even for a motel - which it is not (on New Zealand standards - no kitchenette, no microwave, no hot water in the very small sink - don't know what the sink was for as it only had cold water, no cooking facilities, no plates or cutlery - nothing)!

In a HOTEL, you are supposed to go to the dining room to eat meals - but at breakfast time, while the dining room was open, there was no staff, no food, no help-yourself, nothing. And a quick 'hello' into the kitchen, hoping to find a warm body somewhere, elicited no-one around. The only evidence of life was last night's mess in the kitchen with food scraps visible, over-flowing garbage bins and a dirty stove top.
I am certainly glad I did not eat there as I might have come away with more than I bargained for.
So, I popped around to reception to find the manager. reception was closed, even though it was supposed to have opened an hour before. On ringing the '0' (as the notice said if reception was unattended), the phone rang in reception - that was helpful - but no one answered the phone. I spent 5 minutes trying to raise someone, but no good.
So I packed up and checked myself out - by dropping the key through the grating at reception - and hoped someone would eventually retrieve it.
Extremely disappointed and I feel I was ripped-off greatly at an over-priced money trap.
No wonder the manager was not available.

Room tip: Go somewhere else. try camping on the nature-strip outside. The service will be the same.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2018

We stayed one night. They took the money upfront. One night was $195 and frankly very poor value when compared with just an average motel. Whilst the hotel (if you can call it that) seemed new and very clean, the in-room facilities were extremely poor. You had to tune the TV which only connected with about 3 useless channels. Wi-fi was by a voucher, provided at reception which lasted about 10 minutes after which you had to pay to get online. WiFi is an essential utility today and available free in every motel we have stayed in. Tea and coffee facilities minimal - 2 sachets of tea, 4 sachets of decaffinated coffee only; some milk in the fridge already opened. While the room had a small sink with single cold tap and fridge, there was no microwave or other facilities. The only crockery available were two cups and two saucers and 2 teaspoons + 2 glasses. The tissue dispenser in the bathroom was empty. Finally the walls to the rooms are thin and we had to put up with out neighbour dropping his loo seat each time it was used. The Hotel is some way out of town. Give this one a miss!

Room tip: Avoid this hotel.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CitizenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews