We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$108
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ian C
Adelaide, Australia

Try Somewhere Else

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2019via mobile
Overpriced for what is offered at $195nzd.
Bathroom unclean with mould and dirty used facewasher hanging in shower.
Toilet has stains.
Teacups had not been cleaned.
It is the only accommodation we stayed in in Nz without a toaster or microwave. Did not even have any plates or bowls.
Very disappointed, I would not stay here again and not recommend it to others.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
reception area
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $83
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel Frontage
Booking.com
$108
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $108
  • Agoda.com
    $87
  • Priceline
    $99
1.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $110
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $262
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Hotel
1.7 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from room
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $88
  • eDreams
1.8 km from High Peaks Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
83
67
33
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
67
33
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson accommodation options franz josef town motel fox
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

This place is old, wore out, run down. WiFi barely functioned in bedroom. It’s overpriced to boot. I could go on and on. If you’re looking for a place that was built when your grandparents were young this is the place for you. Upon getting our room there was only a tiny bit of toilet roll left. No extra had go ask for more. Not to mention lack of English skills by staff. He was nice and polite though.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank W2583EIandrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2018

Let me say something nice about this hotel. The views from outside are wonderful.

This is my first negative review on TripAdvisor - and I am very sorry for the establishment, but I have to be fair to other travellers - this place needs some serious management changes.

This is titled a HOTEL - not a MOTEL. However, a HOTEL should have a functioning dining room and a reception that is at least staffed when they say it should be. The price was high, even for a motel - which it is not (on New Zealand standards - no kitchenette, no microwave, no hot water in the very small sink - don't know what the sink was for as it only had cold water, no cooking facilities, no plates or cutlery - nothing)!

In a HOTEL, you are supposed to go to the dining room to eat meals - but at breakfast time, while the dining room was open, there was no staff, no food, no help-yourself, nothing. And a quick 'hello' into the kitchen, hoping to find a warm body somewhere, elicited no-one around. The only evidence of life was last night's mess in the kitchen with food scraps visible, over-flowing garbage bins and a dirty stove top.
I am certainly glad I did not eat there as I might have come away with more than I bargained for.
So, I popped around to reception to find the manager. reception was closed, even though it was supposed to have opened an hour before. On ringing the '0' (as the notice said if reception was unattended), the phone rang in reception - that was helpful - but no one answered the phone. I spent 5 minutes trying to raise someone, but no good.
So I packed up and checked myself out - by dropping the key through the grating at reception - and hoped someone would eventually retrieve it.
Extremely disappointed and I feel I was ripped-off greatly at an over-priced money trap.
No wonder the manager was not available.

Room tip: Go somewhere else. try camping on the nature-strip outside. The service will be the same.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2018

We stayed one night. They took the money upfront. One night was $195 and frankly very poor value when compared with just an average motel. Whilst the hotel (if you can call it that) seemed new and very clean, the in-room facilities were extremely poor. You had to tune the TV which only connected with about 3 useless channels. Wi-fi was by a voucher, provided at reception which lasted about 10 minutes after which you had to pay to get online. WiFi is an essential utility today and available free in every motel we have stayed in. Tea and coffee facilities minimal - 2 sachets of tea, 4 sachets of decaffinated coffee only; some milk in the fridge already opened. While the room had a small sink with single cold tap and fridge, there was no microwave or other facilities. The only crockery available were two cups and two saucers and 2 teaspoons + 2 glasses. The tissue dispenser in the bathroom was empty. Finally the walls to the rooms are thin and we had to put up with out neighbour dropping his loo seat each time it was used. The Hotel is some way out of town. Give this one a miss!

Room tip: Avoid this hotel.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CitizenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2018

The hotel is situated outside the village centre, and has a good accessibility with parking space. Away from the main road, half way to lake Matheson the hotel site offers great views to the Alps (mount Cook and Tasman area). Rooms are decent, but basic and built of cheap materials.
The hotel has a breakfast room, which is not so clean and smells not so good. Could be much better if well maintained. Staff is less friendly than we were used to in New Zealand. Could be much more improved with small investments.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank happyfourGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Worst hotel with the worst service EVER. Guy on reception cant even speak english. No sky or "flatscreen tv" only basic channels 1 and 2 ect. rooms arent soundproof, could hear our neighbours going to the toilet which is absolutley disgusting. Way over priced. Felt like we were staying in a dorm room. Tiny little fridge no ovens or anything

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MariaM22960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews