We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
203
57
30
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
57
30
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite other guests glass of wine evening drinks opportunity to meet new zealand warm welcome helicopter ride lake matheson bed and breakfast lovely hosts lounge area enjoyed our stay b and b short drive stayed here for two nights janny
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our brief stay in Fox Glacier at Misty Peaks. We were welcomed by the innkeepers who were terrific. At the complimentary wine hour we met the other guests and enjoyed visiting with them. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. The heated tile floor in bathroom and the heated towels were much appreciated touches. Breakfast in the attractive lounge area was another opportunity to chat with guests and share traveling tips. Thanks to our lovely hosts for making our stay in Fox Glacier a great one.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea B, Owner at Misty Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thankyou. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

For me, didn’t start well, no sooner had we been shown to our room, than we were informed we needed to pay, we had booked through bookings.com and reserved the booking with American Express card, however, they don’t take American Express and seemed genuinely concerned about being paid, I provided the lady with another card, payment was made, no receipt given and even taking the exchange rate into account, when the payment appeared and my statement, it was £15 to £20 more than expected.

The lady informed me, the owners had told her to sort payment out as soon as we arrived.

On the plus side, lovely location, room was clean and tidy, although one of the sockets didn’t work, breakfast was fresh, but the cooked part I was given eggs and bacon, no suggestion of choice.

Of the various places we stayed in New Zealand and Australia, this was the one we were most disappointed with.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea B, Owner at Misty Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

I am sorry that you didnt appreciate the need to pay on arrival. It is on our Web site and Booking.com that we dont have the facility to take American Express cards. And it is also on Booking.com the rate which you booked the room at which is how we charge.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We were late arriving into Fox Glacier, but from the minute we arrived we were looked after very well. Our hosts, Dianne and Annie, made us feel comfortable from the start and the facility was very attractive, well maintained, very clean and very comfortable. Highly recommend under the current operators.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank _peterwoodward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea B, Owner at Misty Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thankyou for your lovely review really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Situated a little way out of the main town but walkable. Fine for a short stay. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast OK. Host was helpful in keeping us abreast of the weather which had curtailed our trip to the glacier and temporarily blocked the road out of the town.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarahandwilliam2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea B, Owner at Misty Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thankyou for your review we hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey around our country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We drove through Fox Glacier village and to our accommodation just walking distance from town.
Dianne and Hannie were very welcoming. The room was superb and our outside space good. Very comfortable bed and very quiet area.
Each evening we had wine and cheese at 6 pm , an opportunity to meet other guests and exchange stories and info.
The two hosts made us feel at home. We could use the lounge area as we needed. The Breakfast was tailored to our needs. Nothin was too much trouble. They booked our helicopter ride for us . This is to date one of the highlights of our trip.
If you are coming to Fox Glacier we can highly recommend Misty Peaks.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tykes0nTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea B, Owner at Misty Peaks, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thankyou we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews