We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Yogesh Kulkarni
Kolhapur, India

Value for money

Review of Sunset Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
All the amenities were functioning and well maintained. The room size was good. There were plenty of nice restaurants, convenience stores and sightseeing options nearby. Parking was available and convenient. The room was super value for money.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$152
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $152
0.5 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$81
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Sunset Motel
Free parking
reception area
$113
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $113
0.7 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$108
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $108
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$209
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$123
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $123
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $120
1.2 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $95
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from room
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $104
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
151
149
70
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
151
149
70
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson views of the mountains motel kitchenette unit sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2023

I spent quite a bit of time comparing accommodation in both Fox and Franz Josef, and Sunset Hotel is great value for money! We stayed in one of their standard rooms which was much larger than most hotel rooms, with good views of the mountains. The kitchenette had a microwave, electric hot plate, toaster, kettle, and small fridge which meant we were able to prepare our own meals and parking was right beside our room which was very convenient. They offered a cheaper rate than what was on their website when we called as well. Run by a lovely small family, this hotel is a hidden gem!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nina1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2023 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and had issues with this place as follows:

1. Arriving at check in an elderly Chinese lady appeared at reception, dialled a number on her phone and pointed to it. I was connected with her son who’s somewhere else and did check in with him by phone….really ??
2. The first room we were given had no wifi as it was so far away from reception. We asked to be moved, by phone again, and we provided with another room where the wifi worked.
3. The lid on the kettle was broken and fell off when filling.
4. The hot water pressure appears almost non existent and, in the mornings when everyone was showering, there was almost no water coming out of the shower and this morning I got up at 6am to shower early but still almost no pressure and took forever to get hot.
5. The bed was super springy and didn’t feel very much like quality at all.

On the upside, there’s plenty of parking as very few people in the motel ( I wonder why ? ) and the motel is close to the Main Street of Fox Glacier.

I always review our hotels on our trips and 99% of the time give glowing reviews but this place is having a lend at almost $200 Aud per night. No English speaking, no welcome, no facilities no water pressure and by the looks of it, no guests.
You can do much better elsewhere

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank X4830VVpeterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023

Basic accommodation but clean & comfy . Great value for what we paid. Stunning mountain view from.our room. Laundry room on site. Quiet , but in winter I suppose it would be. We were the only residents.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J54YNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2023 via mobile

Room was new-ish, in good repair with many appliances, including a microwave, dorm fridge, toaster, and electric tea kettle) and a mini-kitchen (two-burner electric range). Bathroom featured a jacuzzi-style tub we could not use due to a boil water notice from the local water supplier. Two dings kept us from rating higher: the front desk staff only spoke Mandarin Chinese (we checked in via teleconference with someone who I presume is their son or business partner), and the boil water advisory. This motel appears to be aimed mainly at Chinese tour groups, for whom the former, at least, would not normally be a problem. As my party was the only one apparently in the hotel at the time, I read from this that their trade is mainly in summer, when presumably they would be better staffed. Otherwise a fine stay.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank scareduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023 via mobile

The location, bed and room size are their plus points. However, they need to spruce up their other things such as bathroom heater (heat will stop after a while), kettle (lid was broken and I’ve no idea how to open it when it’s hot), and their electricity wiring. As the bathroom heater was not working, I was given a portable heater (which will weirdly, also stop after a while despite changing to another one). No idea if it’s really just this room #5 or throughout.

The new recep staff is chinese, and after hearing butchering up English, we switched to using mandarin for conversation. Think this place is popular for Chinese guests, maybe due to language issue.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews