We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ChasMack

Fabulous view & great value

Review of Sunset Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2020via mobile
A clean quiet and comfortable motel room at an excellent price. Located a little distant from the centre of the village but with a fabulous view towards the mountains and glacier. We would stay there again without hesitation.
Date of stay: April 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Dear Guests
Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear you had a good stay with us.
We would love to seeing to seeing you the next time.
Kind Regards

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$153
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $153
0.5 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$84
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Sunset Motel
Free parking
reception area
$133
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $133
0.7 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$109
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $109
0.7 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$122
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $180
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $196
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from room
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $101
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $118
  • Expedia.com
    $120
1.2 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
151
149
70
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
151
149
70
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson views of the mountains motel kitchenette unit sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

I only booked it this morning by accident thinking it was near Franz Joseph Glacier rather than Fox Glacier but it turn out to be a winner. The room is quiet, clean and thoughtfully catering to the tourist. It has everything you’ll need kitchen wise but lacks a cooktop but has both a good microwave and electric frying pan. The bed is comfortable and pillows too but the extra pillows are lumpy. (I always travel with my own pillow so it isn’t a problem). The nice patio area with less than good furniture was made up for by having two Isa Brown hens come up to share a pear I was eating. This was followed by two different native birds who seemed to be just curious but I had to stop them from coming in the room. I didn’t expect to be able to bird watch from my room. The manager told me about the glow worm walk when it got dark and this was fabulous.

The room could be made completely dark for sleeping by a lightproof curtain the draws across the entry door which is frosted glass and the highlight window above the sliding glass door to the patio which is also curtained. It also means that the room is very light during the day because of all the glass.

There is a large selection of DVDs for guest use as TV is limited.

All in all I found this a comfortable room for my nights stay.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank kearnykibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear guests
Thank you for your time to sharing experience with us. We are glad to hear you have a lovely stay in Fox Glacier.
Those hens are our neighbors and welcomed as always as they're harmless. It would be relaxing to siting outside of the little patio to watching the mountains.
We hope you have a great trip around in NZ.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020

The room was musty and smelt. There was dark hair in the shower recess. Our room at the further end of the property could not pick up the wi-fi. Totally unacceptable for the high cost of this place. Also disappointed to only find out on arrival that the track to see Fox Glacier was closed.

Room tip: The further your room is from the front of the property the worse the Wi-Fi becomes. I couldn't even connect. Totally frustrating.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulrampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Hello Paul
We are unfortunate to hear you did not have a good stay. The glacier valley walk closed due to heavy rain while ago.
However, we would be more than happy to arrange a glacier flight for you if you wished.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020 via mobile

Generally, accommodation in the area is more expensive than in Wanaka or Queenstown.

Great location if you want to take a heli to Fox Glacier and do a few local walks.

This one was good enough for a nights rest with the added laugh of a outside seating table with a few pet chickens to keep you entertained.

Nice view of the mountains from our room at least.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andrewa823
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Thank you for your comments. We hope you had a good one in Fox Glacier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2020

The room was clean, and there was a nice view of the mountains (when they weren't shrouded in cloud - welcome to glacier country!) out of the window, but honestly I thought this place was hugely expensive for what it was. The bed was really not very comfortable and it was super basic. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing wrong with basic, but at almost $250 a night, we were expecting more. Most places in the world, they'd struggle to justify $100 a night for a room of this standard. There is very limited accommodation in Fox Glacier so obviously you're going to pay more, but we were disappointed.

That said, the staff were nice on check-in and they were really helpful when the DVD player in our room wasn't working properly, and it's just a short 10 minute walk to the Main Street.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulC44_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020

Thank you for your comments. We are unfortunate to hear the standard was met to your expectation.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

We stayed for 2 nights in a studio unit. We had a wonderful view of the mountains. The kitchenette area was equipped well enough for our needs, light breakfasts and lunches. The motel is convenient to Fox Glacier attractions and Lake Matheson where there is a wonderful walk. Only 30 minutes drive to Franz Josef and the attractions there. They also reserved a time slot for a helicopter ride to Fox Glacier, awesome experience!

On the negative side:

The water pressure when needing hot water is a joke! If you have just cold water, no issue but try to get hot and it is a trickle.

The internet is not reliable, cuts in and out.

The room smelt awful, not sure if it is cleanser, or the reek of an 'air freshener' we noticed above the closet but felt it overpowering and disgusting.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lonesum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Thank you for your time to sharing your experience with us. We are unfortunate to hear those drawbacks you had during your stay. We will have a look into the issues.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews