We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andrew A
Melbourne, Australia

Cheap & Cheerful (for the area anyway)

Review of Sunset Motel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2020via mobile
Generally, accommodation in the area is more expensive than in Wanaka or Queenstown.

Great location if you want to take a heli to Fox Glacier and do a few local walks.

This one was good enough for a nights rest with the added laugh of a outside seating table with a few pet chickens to keep you entertained.

Nice view of the mountains from our room at least.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this review
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Thank you for your comments. We hope you had a good one in Fox Glacier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$144
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $144
0.5 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$81
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Sunset Motel
Free parking
reception area
$133
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $133
0.7 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$98
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$97
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$121
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $121
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $206
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from room
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $103
  • Trip.com
1.1 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $118
  • Expedia.com
    $120
1.2 km from Sunset Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
151
149
70
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
151
149
70
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson views of the mountains motel kitchenette unit sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2020

The room was clean, and there was a nice view of the mountains (when they weren't shrouded in cloud - welcome to glacier country!) out of the window, but honestly I thought this place was hugely expensive for what it was. The bed was really not very comfortable and it was super basic. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing wrong with basic, but at almost $250 a night, we were expecting more. Most places in the world, they'd struggle to justify $100 a night for a room of this standard. There is very limited accommodation in Fox Glacier so obviously you're going to pay more, but we were disappointed.

That said, the staff were nice on check-in and they were really helpful when the DVD player in our room wasn't working properly, and it's just a short 10 minute walk to the Main Street.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulC44_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020

Thank you for your comments. We are unfortunate to hear the standard was met to your expectation.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

We stayed for 2 nights in a studio unit. We had a wonderful view of the mountains. The kitchenette area was equipped well enough for our needs, light breakfasts and lunches. The motel is convenient to Fox Glacier attractions and Lake Matheson where there is a wonderful walk. Only 30 minutes drive to Franz Josef and the attractions there. They also reserved a time slot for a helicopter ride to Fox Glacier, awesome experience!

On the negative side:

The water pressure when needing hot water is a joke! If you have just cold water, no issue but try to get hot and it is a trickle.

The internet is not reliable, cuts in and out.

The room smelt awful, not sure if it is cleanser, or the reek of an 'air freshener' we noticed above the closet but felt it overpowering and disgusting.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lonesum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Thank you for your time to sharing your experience with us. We are unfortunate to hear those drawbacks you had during your stay. We will have a look into the issues.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

Stayed x1 night as we made our way back up to the top of South Island to fly home. Spacious room and clean bathroom but the water pressure was almost non existent. There were a few stains on the velvet bedspread which did gross us out a bit. The positive to make up for this was the epic view from the room

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emmaw485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Thank you for the reviews on your stay. We are unfortunate to hear the cleanliness was not met your expectation however, we will pay extra attention to the cleaning to ensure the standard remains as always.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019

Lovely room very clean, helpful staff advising on activities around the glaciers, but little bit loud to the side and front of the property with helicopters taking off and landing at all hours, it was handy to the Main Street where shops and restaurants we located .

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank loug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2020

Thank you for you time to sharing your comments with us.

Most of the guests staying in Fox Glacier is for a helicopter ride to the glacier. Considering Fox could be very weather changeable and not everyone could luckily to get on the glacier due to weather dependent, and we would say you were very lucky to hear and see the helicopters taking people to the glacier because that day must be a good weather and for you to make most of it while in Fox.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2019

Although an older motel, it is clean and spacious. The rooms feel private and secluded and have good views on the mountains. Staff were friendly, and it was an easy drive to a number of attractions and restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kareen_j15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

We appreciate your time sharing your experience with us. We hope you had a lovely stay with us in Fox Glacier.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews