We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
141
136
59
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
136
59
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night lake matheson mt cook new zealand hot water rooms are modern south island spa room fantastic views views of the mountains close to town two nights dvd player sliding door fresh milk the main road great accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We booked a 2 bedroom family room for our family of five. Wiley at reception was very welcoming, and was able to give us a map and recommendations of places to go in the area. The free DVDs to borrow at reception were a nice touch too.

On the downside, there was a unidentifiable horrible smell when we walked into our room - we aired the room out and went out and bought room freshener so we could put up with it! (Only after reading past reviews I can see this must be an ongoing problem for the room). The room itself was not clean, it needed another vacuum and a wipe down of glass and surfaces. The single mattresses were comfortable for the kids, but the queen and sofa bed mattresses were substandard for the room rate being charged. We couldn't get the sofa bed to sit fully flat (reception was closed by the time we made up the bed, so we couldn't get any help) and the mattress was barely thick enough to be of any use. The queen mattress was one of those cheap quality ones. Shower pressure was poor. The room had stated it had a kitchen, but this was just a microwave and fridge. We were told on check in that the hotplate was broken. Would not stay here again - backpacker quality at a premium price.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetmotel, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hello Yaven

We appreciate your reviews of your stay experiences and unfortunately to hear you had an unpleasant stay with us.

The smell could be from the drain after heavy rain the last a couple of days, especially it could rain a lot in Fox due its so changeable weather. Our Housekeeping team is trying clean the drain and leave the door open as longer as possible for the fresh air in every time.
Even the Reception closed at 8 pm, you were still more than welcome to call us for emergency and help. For the 2 bedroom family unit, it was ideally for a family of 4 for the best as the sofa only used if there was extra small children probably. We apologize there was not a cook top because the new one still on its way after the previous guest spilt water caused damage, However, there should be a replaced electric pan or we could provide another one if you required. But we still thank you for your comments and we will try to get things done and improve guests' stay experience in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Stayed for one night which was enough. Room needs updating as it was showing its age.

Hot water pressure just average. Pleasant view in the morning up to the glacier.

The flashing advertising lights outside need to be turned off at night as it kept everyone awake.

Overall satisfactory for one night only but would not stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saunter_About
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Comfortable, spacious room with a tidy kitchenette which has ample cooking supplies. On checking the staff member provided a map of the area and recommended things to see and do - everything he suggested was terrific and it was good to see the staff go above and beyond. Views of mount Cook were beautiful to wake up to in the morning.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LNISHTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 September 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to sharing your stay experience with us.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed you trip in Fox Glacier and crossed out the bucket lists.
We would love to seeing you in the future,

Kind Regards
Sunset Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Neat and tidy family accommodation in fox glacier. Rooms had everything you needed. Manager was lovely and very helpful with everything. Close to the town cafes. Will stay on next visit to New Zealand.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mell646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2018

Thank you for your time to sharing your stay experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Fox Glacier with us.We look forward to welcoming you the next time while you visit the glacier region.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming and obliging - nothing a problem - great knowledge of the area and recommemdations were well worth folliwing clean and cosy room - fantastic views - would definitely return and highly recommend

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews