We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
5
10
9
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
10
9
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests free wifi properties soap town towels
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Nice place with good varied breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Stayed for 2 nights. Shower did turn cold from time to time otherwise the bathroom was good. I would however prefere if used towels on hook mean "don't wash" and that soap used only 1 day didn't have to be replaced while cleaning.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Klint89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in room 4 with a drawer that can't close! That's a sign of poor workmanship in a relatively new hotel. The heater works well but the pressure is low. The location is right in the town center so a convenience store and restaurants are all within a 5 min walk.

Parking are sparse in the new wing so you may end up parking across the road near its sister hotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zacc353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Zac,

Thank you for rating and reviewing your stay at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. The team is glad you found our facilities and rooms clean and new after the refurbishment completed a year ago.
We appreciate all the feedback so we can improve our services and rooms.
Kind regards,
Gladys Bargallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We stayed here on our way towards Christchurch before heading back home. Hotel seemed to be newly refurbished, Located in centre of Fox Glacier town.Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly and professional Reception staff (Prianca), Check -in was efficient and Porter was friendly too... she helped us a lot throughout our 2 Night stay and also with booking our activities in Franz Josef as flights were pretty much booked out in Fox Glacier.
Rooms were clean and up to standards, we loved the Eco-Friendly service of this Hotel and really appreciate it

We will recommend this hotel for readers and will definitely stay here again!

Room tip: Friendly and Professional Staff
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NJRCR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Glacier Country, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay in the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country.
Thank you for you taking the time to share your experience in Fox. I will ensure Priyanka receives your feedback and I know she will be very happy to hear.
Our reception staff is always happy to assist with your bookings and travel planning.
The hotel refurbishment was completed a year ago and the team feels very proud to see our guests appreciate the changes.
We would love to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Good points -Room clean,fridge and tea and coffee. New shower room which was very small.
Negatives Room very small no shelfs or wardrobe for clothes, no safe and no window locks which meant you could not ventilate the room as it back into busy Street and did not feel that safe, it was also noisy. Some coat hooks but had to ask for coat hangers as none in room- initially one was provided but the did bring another 4 later. Bed appeared new but not comfortable and made worse by non breathable waterproof mattress protector.
Breakfast was included in the price I really wish it hadn't been. The only good point was the yougart. The continental option was very sparse ceral, yougart and toast no danish pastry or croissant as advertised on the menu. The sliced bread was in an open basket so had dried out and the cheese was curled at the edge again due to being left out. We did ask about the cooked option we were told it finished at 9 am (we had been told on check in that breakfast was till 10am). We did eventually get to speak to the manger after having to ask twice he did come and provide us with a menu. We really wish we hadn't bothered the bacon was so over cooked it cracked when you attempted to cut it and the sausages had no meat content. You would think it could be worse but the tea and coffee were at best luke warm on days. Cleanliness in the dinning room was poor same dead flys on window cills each day.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 1jane_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Book in advance, small but efficient friendly place.
Nature of area is the Glaciers, but popular and even in the shoulder season had we not booked in advance
It is likely we would not have been able to do what we came to this area to see and do.
Town busy by end of day, couple of hostels and 2 Heartland hotels.
One street, good variety of restaurants, coffee shops, one gas station, one grocery store.
Glow worm forest at the edge of town

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Canada713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews