We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
FindHotel
US$70
View deal
Expedia.comUS$73
eDreamsUS$73
PricelineUS$73
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
225
184
53
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
184
53
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson new zealand two bedroom unit small kitchen quiet location cooking facilities short drive the main road spa bath comfortable room glow worm walk one night stay comfortable stay mike heater motel glacier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2021

We really enjoyed our one night stay at this motel and wished it could have been longer. Everything was so clean and it was well appointed, it had everything we needed.
We received a very friendly welcome and would recommend it to anyone.
It is also well situated for a walk around Lake Mathieson which was lovely.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0eleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020 via mobile

Came here after a day doing a lake trip nearby. Greeting when we arrived was lovely. Room was great. Service and whole experience was impeccable. All ammenities in the room are perfect. Can’t fault the place. Thanks Debbie for making our short stay here so lovely! Highly highly recommended!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

Spotlessly clean and tidy unit! Really comfortable bed. Yummy hot chocolate.
Couldn’t fault anything about our stay. Our hostess was very friendly and accommodating.
We would definitely recommend these motels.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kaiapoi_Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2020

Staff were incredibly helpful with the glow worm walk recommendation and loaning us torches to do it. Nice and comfortable stay. Only downside would be the heater in the lounge - not the type to leave on over night and a little chilly for the person sleeping in the lounge without it. But otherwise really clean and comfortable. Would happily stay again.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank katinjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2020

The motel is located a short distance from town on the way to the viewing site for the Glacier. We had booked a two bedroom unit but as my partner is a snorer the friendly lady was more than willing to give us two separate units at minimal extra cost. The units are large with a very good sitting area - sofa, table - and cooking facilities if required. Very fresh. clean and modern and very comfortable beds. Very friendly lady host. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davids27892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Halsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2020

Thank you for your lovely review Davids27892. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Thank you so much for supporting us!
Kindest
Liz (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews