We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/08/21
Booking.comUS$73
Expedia.comUS$73
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
227
185
53
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
227
185
53
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake matheson new zealand two bedroom unit small kitchen quiet location cooking facilities short drive the main road spa bath comfortable room glow worm walk one night stay comfortable stay mike heater motel glacier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2020

The motel is located a short distance from town on the way to the viewing site for the Glacier. We had booked a two bedroom unit but as my partner is a snorer the friendly lady was more than willing to give us two separate units at minimal extra cost. The units are large with a very good sitting area - sofa, table - and cooking facilities if required. Very fresh. clean and modern and very comfortable beds. Very friendly lady host. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davids27892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Halsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2020

Thank you for your lovely review Davids27892. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Thank you so much for supporting us!
Kindest
Liz (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2020

We stayed at room 16 for 2 nights on 30 May. I would say it's 4 stars when it comes to cleanliness. Short walking distance to cafes and restaurants. Clean sheets, comfortable pillows, warm bed, bright and cosy room. Nice shower with very good pressure of warm water. Clean set of dishes and cutleries. Just a recommendation if the owner could install a heater in the toilet, it's a bit chilly especially at night. Provided heater can only warm the room but not the bathroom and toilet.

Room tip: Modern fixtures and clean room.
Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveholicMR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Halsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2020

Thank you for posting your review. I will certainly pass your comments onto our owners and see if we can get heaters installed in the bathrooms as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2020

+ nice location with good views (a lot of places there probably have good views since the town is surrounded by mountains)
+ Clean and big room
+ clean bathroom with separated toilet and washbasin complete with heated towel rail
+ small kitchen with stove, microwave and fridge
+ great food options 2 min drive away

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Halsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2020

It was a pleasure to host you SuparnaPune. We very much appreciate your choosing to stay with us, and taking the time to write your review. Thanks again, Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2020

This is probably the most relaxing and comfortable place I stayed during a lengthy trip around New Zealand. In the quiet town of Fox Glacier, a short drive from the glaciers themselves and an easy walk into the town of Fox Glacier. Owner was very friendly and knowledgeable. Room was simple but bright, clean and comfortable. I'm disappointed I had to cut my trip short due to the coronavirus situation, I would have liked to stay longer and explored the beautiful surrounding area more thoroughly.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Halsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2020

Thank you for your lovely review Patrick. We are really thrilled you enjoyed your stay on your NZ trip. I hope you got home okay after the Coronovirus debacle. Appreciate you taking the time to write in. All the very best, and if ever you are this way again, we would love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

Nice motel, very convenient to Lake Matheson and environs. Dave and his wife were so pleasant, knowledgeable. Gave us great suggestions for dining and activities. Clean! Bed was comfortable and bathroom was nicely configured.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 170marlenep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Halsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2020

Huge thanks for your lovely review. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and I hope you went on to enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews