We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
164
82
33
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
82
33
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fireplace cook your own camper van the kitchen yogurt campervan sites spa bath first floor glow worm walk parking area nice bathroom convenience store bathroom facilities within easy walking distance stayed two nights new zealand free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Arrived 6.30pm mid June bitterly cold and pitch black night. Taken over to the unit which was in darkness, with no heating on...best part was that all the windows were open. Brief instructions on starting a lovely gas fire with precise instructions if we were to go out "turn it off". Later in the evening remote control not working, new universal television remote, was put into the unit that day, but they neglected to tune it, not even something you could do yourself as the remote front was not in English!!! Two guest, two towels provided in a unit that had a spa bath, not only lack of towels but the were border line wet / extremely damp. Next morning went to the office with key to check out, expressed I was a motlier myself and I was horrified that a guest arriving after dark would be expected to be happy walking into an ice box. The response I was given for this is she did not know what time we would arrive!!
Time to lift your game guys.

Room Tip: Request a preheated unit!!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bmwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Not sure why it gets bad reviews. It’s in a great location, quite with friendly staff. Facilities are good, 1Gb of free wifi per day.
Laundry is $2 per wash and $2 per dry and the clothes are dry at the end.
Camper van parks are great level concrete pads.
It’s not expensive when you consider it’s a tourist town and quite remote. Maybe those that think it’s expensive should have researched more before their holiday on the West Coast, where everything is not free.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Rung on the day to ask about staffed hours/late check in and spoke to an Asian lady on the phone who couldn't understand English very well or communicate with me. I don't know why we bothered to book in advance and pay online -- after arriving we just got told to park in any free site.. They didn't take any details or registration, no boom gates, nothing... poorly organised for safety. If I had kids I wouldn't want them staying in such an open, easily accessed site.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizamarie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Everything about this motel-camp site is average or below. The room could have been cleaner. There are many campers and tents right outside the door as the rent part of the parking lot for camping. We stayed here two nights and would not stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCodder1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

First they could not find our reservation, then could not find that it was prepaid. It did not feel welcoming at all. The room was average but the breakfast was way below average. A self-serve selection of stale cereal. Our only real disappointment in New Zealand other than the rainy weather. We could not tell if there was a view since everything was socked in weatherwise

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SlothRescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews