We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Hotels.com
US$77
View deal
Trip.com
US$76
View deal
PricelineUS$77
FindHotelUS$77
Expedia.comUS$77
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
142
192
54
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
192
54
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central location lake matheson stayed two nights motel glacier wifi fox accommodation microwave cafes units christchurch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2020

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was very clean, shower was good, beds comfortable. Perhaps another choice of pillow would have been helpful. WiFi was ok. Heater worked well at night. Good recommendation from the staff to go to Lake Matheson for dinner. That was excellent. It was a bit pricey for what you got, but it was ok.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarajandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Westhaven M, Front Office Manager at The Westhaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Thanks very much for your review, so warm to hear that during this hard time. stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

Website advertises extras like wifi and breakfast. Wifi is so weak you have to stand at your door to use and it’s $13 for a continental breakfast. Not an overly clean motel either. I wiped my shelves clean myself. Accomodation is limited down here

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cameronjamesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

This motel is overpriced for a very ordinary motel. It claims to be luxury but is, in fact, more or less standard. That said it was comfortable and well-run. It is centrally located and near restaurants and bars.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020 via mobile

Overall the stay wasn’t luxurious or spacious (as it looked on the pics!) but it was comfortable and clean. Until on our last day, whilst it’s absolutely chucking it down all day, come 10am, electricity goes away and we’re left with nothing. Literally! No WiFi, no fridge, no microwave, no TV... we thankfully had hot water at least! Not a single apology (whether it’s at fault or not... you just apologize!), no compensation, even the simple fact of arranging breakfast for us at the nearby cafes would have been so nice... and information, people like to be informed when things aren’t going to plan! It just left that last sour taste in our mouth as everyone had been so accommodating and helpful until then!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mikelalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

Due to the severe weather conditions led to road closures from Christchurch to Fox Glacier, we tried all the way and still couldn't arrive to Fox Glacier and could not check in The Westhaven Motel. We requested for the refund but the motel just pulled all the responsibility on to the guest. What a shame on to this motel!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wing_Yin_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews