We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic value for money Scenic Helicopter Flight over Fox Glacier

Excellent experience and best value for money Helicopter company in Fox Glacier. Family run... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
vickiNZtraveller
Epic Heli and snow landing experience!

Outstanding heli trip over the glaciers and Alps before landing on the snow.. really neat family... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tour10396842932
Read all 218 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fox Glacier
from US$249.39
More Info
from US$354.69
More Info
from US$249.39
More Info
from US$249.39
More Info
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
185
11
2
6
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
185
11
2
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute flight great trip franz joseph glacier felt safe worth every dollar out of this world bucket list southern alps awesome experience michael pilot landing helicopter weather fox glazier viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2015

A heli tour with a snow landing is a must do on the West Coast. Mountain Helicopters offered great service and a very safe flight. We will go back next time to do the Glacier Walk

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank CamS302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2015

I took the 1 hour helicopter flight with a quick landing on the glacier. It was excellent. I booked the same day and since I was a single they were able to put me in with a group of 3 and it worked out perfectly. They were so nice not to exclude me from riding in front of the helicopter one way. The pilot took pictures of me on the glacier which was very nice, since I was alone. The trip was gorgeous. It seemed liked a cloudy day, but once we got to the glacier, the sky was surprisingly clear and it was warm! It was well worth the money and reasonably priced compared to the others in the area. Thank you, my fly guys, for a great flight! Wish I could do it again!

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank SunKissingMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Our family of four took the 30 minute helicopter flight with mountain landing. The entire experience from friendly pilot to the views and sensation of being up on top of the world was like something out of a dream! Lots of time to take in the views on top of the mountain. I'm not a keen flyer but I loved this trip and felt that it was worth the big expense to do this once. The scenery would be hard to beat anywhere in the world. Felt safe and well looked after from start to finish - the flight was delayed while they waited for cloud to disperse, which suggested a high level of caution and care. Would highly recommend this duration - I think the 10 min flight might be just too quick to fully take it all in.

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank OFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

I don't know what heaven is like, obviously, but I do hope it's a bit like this amazing experience! We put our lives, not in the hands of God, but in the hands of Simon and Adrian, who did a marvellous job of not only keeping us safe, but in making it one of the best experiences of our lives! We were a bit unsure whether we would get off the ground due to cloud cover, but once above the clouds the sky and the mountains were breathtaking. If you are a bit strapped for time then I would certainly recommend you take this trip as you get two see both Mount Cook and Fox Glaciers. Not cheap, but well worth every penny and moment suspended in this amazingly beautiful environment. I mustn't forget to mention the brilliant customer service and friendly folk... Thanks!

Date of experience: January 2015
3  Thank 11janr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

I was nervous about this due to the price and the fact I'm scared of heights, but wow! Very glad we did it! Walked in off the street and the two men who served us said they'd be able to get us in the air as soon as wanted. We got the 40min flight with glacier landing and although pricey it was so worth it. The guys were very easy to talk to and made us feel alot more comfortable. The views were incredible and the glacier landing was absolutely indescribable. Beautiful and such an amazing experience. My partner and I agree that this is a 100% must do when visiting and that its the best $780 we've spent in our lives!!!

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank MaddyRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews