We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Cook View Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
193
176
58
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
176
58
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake mathesoncompact roomthe main roadfree unlimited wifithe ground floorshort stayqueen studioup to datenew zealandsmall towna wonderful staycomfy bedin townlady at receptionlocal attractionswithin easy walking distancestayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We had two nights in a Queen Standard room on the upper level.
The room was not big but we still had plenty of space.
It was clean and well thought out.
The free wifi was fairly quick.
The little wall heater did the job. However it cycled on and off all night; a bit disturbing for an already light sleeper. We left it off for night two.
We would stay here again. Fox Glacier town is a bit quieter and funkier than Franz Josef.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robe397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hello robe397 and thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for your overall review which ended in the comment that you would stay with us again - that is what we like to hear! Yes, the rooms are well thought out, if you don't mind me saying, especially the bathroom with lots of bench space, Thank you for the comment about the heater, I'm sure it will help other guests as the rooms are double glazed and do hold their own heat. Thanks for the "funky" vote for our lil' town of Fox too! Appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

The motel is clean, rooms are compact and have everything you need including heaters (winter/spring). The motel has tea, coffee, milk and a small kitchenette with sink, microwave and plates, kettles and toaster but no cooker.

Parking is also available and the location of the motel is convinient for the numerous helicopter tours.

Omar

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Omar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hello Omar I and thank you for taking the time to review us after staying with us this past week. I shall pass on to the housekeeping staff your comments on the cleanliness, it will make them smile! Thanks for pointing out the main aspects of our compact studio, we do have a limited number of larger rooms that do have cooktops for those who require them, it just depends if they are available. Being a motel, yes there is car parking for everyone and being closest to the village centre we are just a very short walk to not only the helicopter tour options but also the restaurants and bars. Thanks for the review Omar, enjoy the rest of your NZ travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Booked on the day which we don't often do. Was welcomed by a lovely owner who upgraded us to a two bedroom studio. Room was very spacious. Loved having separate rooms and enjoying a bath for once! Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks for your lovely review Sarah, glad to hear you enjoyed the extra treat of having the spa bath!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We were looking for a comfortable moderately-priced motel for one night prior to visiting the glaciers and chose the Bella Vista based on Tripadvisor reviews and ratings. We were not disappointed. It is a clean, comfortable well-appointed motel and the recommendations from the owners on where to eat, how to get the best out of our glacier visit and whereto stay on our onward journey to Greymouth to catch the train to Christchurch were all spot-on. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine, those upstairs have a better view of the street but there is no elevator so take your pick.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We don't often "wing it" when travelling as i enjoy the research and trying to work out good accommodation well ahead. However, being unsure about the weather and conditions on the west coast we decided to come to roost where we ended up for the day. Spending most of his career as international sales manager, my husband is a jaded traveller who talks a lot about "it's just a bed for the night".
Pros: The unit was nicely situated upstairs away from reception. The owner manager was very pleasant and helpful. Most appreciated was her suggestion to have a walk and brunch at Lake Mathieson next morning. Bella Vista provided just that "bed for the night" at a reasonable tariff.
Cons: No view, a highway frontage, no character. Very small room. The bed barely fitted in the room. The bed came with scary instructions about sleeping between the sheets. That kept me awake thinking about the alternative sleeping arrangements of tourists. And what do they do in the shower? Very unsettling.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dojii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hopefully it was at least a comfortable 'bed for the night'! Our compact rooms are indeed small, but priced accordingly and very popular. Thanks for taking the time to write a review Dojii, we appreciate any feedback we receive from guests as it helps us improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews