We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located on main highway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The Bella Vista is a modern two story motel located in the centre of town (very small) and on the main highway. Very convenient. Rooms are somewhat small and there is no elevator to get to the second floor ... a real pain if you have heavy luggage. Clean and Convenient. Considering the limited choices in the area I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelmutS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

It's good to hear you found our location convenient HelmutS2000 - it's great to be so close to everything Fox Glacier has to offer. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We spent two beautiful nights at Bella Vista Fox Glacier. The staff were wonderful, especially the managers who were so accommodating of my young daughter. They put on in house movies for her and also provided her with paper for drawing. The room was warm and all heating worked very well, which is important for us Queenslanders whilst visiting NZ in June. Highly recommended and will hopefully visit again. Thank you so much.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review Erin. It was a pleasure to host you all and your daughter was charming whenever she came to reception. We try to ensure that our guests have a great experience when visiting Fox Glacier and I know that the Scenic Flight up the Glacier was a highlight for you.
Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. Sue was a delightful woman who efficiently checked us in. She helped us plan some local activities and provided clear information on these.
The rooms basic although very clean, warm and comfortable. It felt like home. The views around the motel are picturesque.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gem780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review gem780. It's lovely to hear you found our motel so comfortable and hopefully we helped make your honeymoon even more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

modern facilities. free unlimited wifi got slow later in the evening possibly due to more people being on line. off street parking, car park is small due to its shape and design, but plenty of room on street. close to eating places and activities

Room Tip: ask for ground floor if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank coaster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post a review coaster2. Hopefully you had a good trip home. Unfortunately the wifi can get a bit slow in the evenings - the whole of Fox Glacier is affected by this, even though we have a very fast connection at the Bella Vista.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Walked in without a reservation after a tiring walk at the Fox Glacier, and got a very reasonable rate on a triple room. This is definitely a motel-grade accommodation with modest interior and style, but the room was surprisingly comfortable and had all the amenities we needed, including a reliable wifi with 4GB (or 5GB?) limit. We were both under the weather that day but had very nice sleep. The host was great at briefing us about the area. We took her advice and took a walk at Lake Matheson next morning. Highly recommend both the motel and the walk.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank keywonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

I'm so glad we could offer you a comfortable place to stay after your tiring day keywonc, and that you enjoyed your time at Lake Matheson. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 11 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
16.2 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,456 reviews
0.1 km away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
16.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,276 reviews
1 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $151 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing