We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jena39
Auckland, New Zealand

Spacious room in friendly motel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
Stayed here while travelling around the South Island in the autumn. The room was clean, cosy and spacious. There is a kitchen so you can make a meal (a couple of rings and a microwave) but also a really nice restaurant only a few minutes away. We’d certainly go again !
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$210
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Priceline
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $210
1.7 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$84
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $84
  • Hotels.com
    $83
  • Expedia.com
    $84
1.4 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free parking
$462
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    $140
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
1.1 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
reception area
$112
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Agoda.com
    $91
  • Priceline
    $109
1.9 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$134
  • Priceline
    $129
  • Agoda.com
    $87
  • Expedia.com
    $118
1.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free parking
$307
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $307
  • eDreams
    $307
  • Vio.com
    $307
1.3 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel Frontage
$108
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $108
  • Agoda.com
    $88
  • Priceline
    $99
2.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$159
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $110
  • Hotels.com
    $110
  • ZenHotels.com
    $109
0.4 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
$180
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Expedia.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
    $166
2.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$109
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $109
  • Hotels.com
    $104
  • Priceline
    $109
2.1 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
76
111
35
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
111
35
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mt cook one night cooking facilities quiet location free wifi gavin motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024 via mobile

We only stayed here one night as we were road tripping south island. Our host was very good- Gavin. We take our dog wherever we go and Gavin was happy for us to have her in our large spacious room. I think we got good value, comfortable bed and it is very quiet. I would stay here again

Room tip: Plenty of parking. Several restaurants at the end of the road
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adventure23076376644
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2023

Liked · If the term "Serentity" ever suited a location, it's the Mount Cook View Motel, the Motel's setting in Fox Glacier is at the base of Mount Cook.
The Mount Cook View Motel is a one minute drive from the highway down a Dead End Road, so there is no passing traffic noise.
The motel has a ranch/farm like setting in a unique leafy & grassy enviroment that leaves (not meant as a pun) you feeling at one with the environment & nature.
The silence is almost deafening as you try & take in all the spectacular surroundings of snow capped peaks, clouds snagged on jagged mountain tops, in a spacious farmland retreat.
Anyone trying to escape the hustle & bustle of the city, anyone who wants to write their own Tolstoy "War & Peace" novel or just wants to escape from the kids for a quite weekend. Well this is the place for that.
Fox Glacier town has restaurants, shops & stores, all that one needs for a weekend away with nature.
We had a cabin type apartment, seperate bedroom, bathroom, kitchen & backyard patio with views you just have to experience to believe. All that & with parking at the door & an attached laundry next door. SENERITY NOW.

Room tip: Afternoon Sun on the back patio with a beer/wine looking at mountain peaks. UNBELIEVE-ABLE
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank boatsweep56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2023 via mobile

Where do I start.
1. Hotel is in dire need of upgrading as in 1970's time warp.
2. Handful of terrestrial TV channels.
3.No free WiFi which is a must these day's.
4. Wasn't flexible re a non travelling colleague who got the big C. This was despite other properties contacted who were happy to modify our booking.
Pricing was OTP for what was offered as well.
This coupled with a major thunderstorm overnight which led to power failure didn't add to our mood.
As you can see not overly impressed and I've stayed in plenty of motels over the years.

Room tip: Up to you but I'll never go back
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank toddytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2022

we enjoyed our one night in an executive studio. The bathrooms are very well fitted out with great hot water and good pressure.
Room has a fridge and cooking facilities with lovely stainless steel sink.
the property is in a quiet location - hear the birds chirping in the morning and there is a lovely view to Mt Cook.
Gavin was an amazing host - nothing was too much trouble.

Room tip: Exec Studio best
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morgan, Owner at Mount Cook View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2022

Thank you Jeff, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mt Cook View Motel.
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2021

We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome. We had a choice of rooms and we chose the King studio. It was very comfortable. We cooked in the unit and there were just enough sufficient items to use for our cooking. A great location overlooking farmland. It would have been a nice walk to town, except it was raining. (we went for a short walk anyway along the footpath).

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VickiBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews