We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Steve M
Auckland, New Zealand

Comfortable rooms

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Sept 2020via mobile
Comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price. We had the executive room with a nice new bathroom. The rooms are spacious. Heating is an in room heater that was adequate. It is a very short dive to restaurants.
Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $210
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $210
1.7 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$84
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $84
  • Hotels.com
    $74
  • Expedia.com
    $84
1.4 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free parking
reception area
$130
  • Priceline
    $126
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Expedia.com
    $142
1.9 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$114
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $104
  • Agoda.com
    $95
  • Expedia.com
    $114
2.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$134
  • Priceline
    $129
  • Agoda.com
    $94
  • Expedia.com
    $118
1.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free parking
$257
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $257
  • eDreams
    $257
  • Vio.com
    $257
1.3 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$110
  • Priceline
    $100
  • Agoda.com
    $91
  • Expedia.com
    $97
0.4 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
$180
  • Priceline
    $180
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Expedia.com
    $180
2.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$240
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $227
  • Expedia.com
    $240
  • Agoda.com
    $247
2.3 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
    $205
  • Priceline
    $209
2.1 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
76
111
35
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
111
35
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mt cook one night cooking facilities quiet location free wifi gavin motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2020

We had a warm welcome to Motel and given a map to explore the town. Motel was very roomy and had everything we needed to make our stay great. Quiet location with beautiful view of Mt Cook. A short drive from town. Internet was easy to connect to.

Room tip: Beautiful Views of Mt Cook
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

The name did not disappoint with great views of Mt Cook!
We were staying in the family units which were separated and seemed older to the main units. Inside a bit dated but provided what we needed. Hosts Had put heater on for our arrival so was nice it had started to warm up, although it took a little longer to get all rooms warmer. Good kitchenette and enough provided for us to cook and eat in.
Only concern was no smoke alarm in the unit which we thought odd and mentioned when we checked out, apparently all the other units did but not the family ones?

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rf80808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2020

I will start on a positive note by saying the unit was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable, apart from the view being stunning I have nothing else positive to say, the room photos totally misrepresent the actual room you get, while although very outdated the bedrooms were spacious. The living area however is cramped and u comfortable fo 4 adults. We were given a unit wia disabled bathroom which was quite large but I don't know how one would cope with a wheelchair in the living space.
We decided to use the bbq to cook out food because the kitchwas so tiny it was impossible to cook. Before being able to use it we had to scrub the hotplate because it was filthy..the bbq area it's self was very underwhelming and also dirty. If it wasn't quite late when we arrived I would have asked for a refund and gone elsewhere, it definitely wasn't worth the $350+ per night paid

Room tip: Find another hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gillw2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morgan, Owner at Mount Cook View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2022

I would have gladly giving you a refund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

Reception by the young host was not very welcoming. Not really interested, that was a pitty. The room was very spacious and clean. The facilities were also good. The older host, on the other hand, was very helpful with the wifi and the TV. He also told the weather forecast, which eateries there are in Fox Glacier and what activities you can do in the area. Later he also came with an extensive breakfast that I ordered when booking here. The motel is minutes from the center of Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson. With clear weather you have a beautiful view of the mountains. Had a nice stay here thanks to the hospitality of the older host.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toonv807
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

Make sure you choose this motel if you go to Fox Glacier.
They are trustworthy and give a refund when the roads are washed out and through no fault or choice of your own you can't get there!
NO other motels in Fox were considerate enough to do this-all other travellers affected by the weather like us had had disgusting treatment from their Fox motels,saying tough,we don't do refunds.This makes a huge difference when you are travelling and it seems awful to be penalised for being organised.
I can't wait till we are able to reschedule and go to Foz Glacier and will certainly be staying in this reliable motel.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravellingBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews