We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gillw2901
Victor Harbor, Australia

Paid twice as much as the room is worth

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2020
I will start on a positive note by saying the unit was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable, apart from the view being stunning I have nothing else positive to say, the room photos totally misrepresent the actual room you get, while although very outdated the bedrooms were spacious. The living area however is cramped and u comfortable fo 4 adults. We were given a unit wia disabled bathroom which was quite large but I don't know how one would cope with a wheelchair in the living space.
We decided to use the bbq to cook out food because the kitchwas so tiny it was impossible to cook. Before being able to use it we had to scrub the hotplate because it was filthy..the bbq area it's self was very underwhelming and also dirty. If it wasn't quite late when we arrived I would have asked for a refund and gone elsewhere, it definitely wasn't worth the $350+ per night paid
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: Find another hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morgan, Owner at Mount Cook View Motel, responded to this review
Responded 27 Nov 2022
I would have gladly giving you a refund
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$152
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $152
1.7 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$81
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free parking
reception area
$114
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$107
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $107
2.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$118
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $118
1.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free parking
$122
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $122
2.1 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $95
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • eDreams
2.2 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $198
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from room
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $103
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Mount Cook View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
76
111
35
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
111
35
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mt cook one night cooking facilities quiet location free wifi gavin motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2020

Reception by the young host was not very welcoming. Not really interested, that was a pitty. The room was very spacious and clean. The facilities were also good. The older host, on the other hand, was very helpful with the wifi and the TV. He also told the weather forecast, which eateries there are in Fox Glacier and what activities you can do in the area. Later he also came with an extensive breakfast that I ordered when booking here. The motel is minutes from the center of Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson. With clear weather you have a beautiful view of the mountains. Had a nice stay here thanks to the hospitality of the older host.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toonv807
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

Make sure you choose this motel if you go to Fox Glacier.
They are trustworthy and give a refund when the roads are washed out and through no fault or choice of your own you can't get there!
NO other motels in Fox were considerate enough to do this-all other travellers affected by the weather like us had had disgusting treatment from their Fox motels,saying tough,we don't do refunds.This makes a huge difference when you are travelling and it seems awful to be penalised for being organised.
I can't wait till we are able to reschedule and go to Foz Glacier and will certainly be staying in this reliable motel.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravellingBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2019 via mobile

One of the best Motels I’ve stayed in. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment. Rooms were clean and spacious. Toilet was spotless. About 5 minutes from the town center and good views of the mountains from the road. Additional plus point is that it’s a 3 Minute Drive to Lake Matheson. Perfect if you want to visit the lake early in the morning.
The only negative maybe the receptionist could be a bit more enthusiastic while welcoming guests :).

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank greg_wanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2019 via mobile

We booked for a one bedroom apartment. We arrived and were welcomed coldly by a guy who looks like who just woke up or probably hates his job. Was not a good start and thinking this might affect the review that I am going to give them, as customer service is very important to me when I travel.
However, ignoring that kind of behavior, as we entered the apartment, checked everything, I thought they deserved 4stars as it is clean, spacious and the bathroom is immaculate.
Kitchen utensils are complete and the view of the mountains in front of the apartment is exceptional . It is also 5 minutes drive from Lake Matheson, very convenient for someone like me who wants to catch the early sunrise of the lake.
Over all experience is great. Never really had the chance to meet the owner.
Probably a little bit of training with the staff about good customer service and enthusiasm in serving the customers.
Anyway, good job with the cleanliness of the room. Would have been given 5 stars but the customer service is a minus.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank marialigayabumanglag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Nice sized room with ample room. Amenities were good with little kitchen and large bathroom. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice views of the Glacier as well. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would happily stay again. Thanks

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Brettels71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew8, Owner at Mount Cook View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews