We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Trippax2
Gosford, Australia

Old World Charm

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024
My husband and I stayed at this accommodation to do our helicopter trip over Fox Glacier.
It is an older style hotel with plenty of charm.
Our room was on the first floor, small but comfortable. Renovated bathroom, with a nice hot shower. More than suitable for a one night stay.
Our view was facing out to the main street and mountains beyond.
Be mindful that this accommodation does not have a lift, so you will need to carry your luggage up stairs.
We had dinner here too. Plenty of choice and meal was delicious.
Breakfast was included in our accommodation. However for some reason the day of our breakfast it was not in this building as advised on check in. We had to walk to the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country which was a five minute walk located in the main street where there was small buffet breakfast. Food was adequate to start the day.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Stairs to first floor, no lift and no one to help carry luggage.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review
Responded 31 Mar 2024
Dear Trippax2. Thank you for providing us with your insights and positive feedback. The entire team is ecstatic that we have met your needs and that you have enjoyed staying with us. We wish you a pleasant onward journey and hope that the rest of your visit to New Zealand is an enjoyable one. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Motel Frontage
Tripadvisor
$108
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $108
0.2 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
reception area
Tripadvisor
$86
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$210
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $210
0.4 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$74
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$300
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$118
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $115
0.1 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$97
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
24
53
42
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
53
42
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely historic hotel friendly locals outdoor activities nice room recommend staying here franz joseph town helicopter bath glacier coast west advice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Room was spotless. Bed was comfortable. All the staff made us feel very welcome and were very helpful and obliging. Parking was included. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and best buffet breakfast we have had. Would highly recommend this Hotel. A must stay if you are at Fox Glacier.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank juliemV4570KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2024

Dear Juliem. Thank your for your feedback. The Team are ecstatic and delighted with your rating of 5/5. Your comments have encouraged us to soar to new heights. Enjoy the rest of your journey in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024

Disappointed. On check (February 28)out we were asked to pay. Produced evidence of payment on check in. Then asked how would we like to pay for the second night, produced evidence of one night booking only. They were not interested in looking at my evidence, only focused on what their system was telling them. I left with an uneasy feeling. A second unauthorised charge for a slightly different amount was made to my creditcard 3 days later (March 2). A Phone call to the hotel (March 6)to clarify why there was a 2nd unauthorised charge to my credit card. No explanation forthcoming. They have apologised for the 2nd payment and said a refund will take 5-10 business days. I'm hoping this will happen but not confident. Awaiting refund.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jesse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Dear Global597965. Thank you for your feedback. We understand your disappointment and regret the inconvenience caused. Once we became aware we immediately commenced rectifying the error. Rest assured this is not our usual standard and will reinforce our protocols to ensure that this type of incident does not reoccur. We also appreciate your understanding and our General Manager has reached out to personally apologise. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Home from home , cozy atmosphere, friendly staff , great food 👌 great for seeing local glaciers , good easy off road parking , log fire , amazing rooms , good advice about the area and what to do , room was like a suite with two separate rooms very impressed

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hazel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Dear Hazeld585. Thank you for your review. The team are ecstatic and grateful for your insights and a rating of 5/5. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Old style hotel with Old World charm. Staff were extremely helpful especially with Delila at reception. She was immensely helpful with accommodating our requests regarding bedding, dinner bookings and heating within our room.

Place was clean, had recently been refurbished and was up to a good standard.
Would recommend a stay there to break up the long day driving heading south

Room tip: Buffet breakfast needs upgrading but is ok compared to the cafe nearby who were a bit pricey
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rusty6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Dear Rusty6336. Thank you for your feedback. We agree our property does reflect a certain old world charm and is situated in one of the most amazing locations in New Zealand, Glacier Country! We will also notify Delila of your comments. We wish you a peaceful and prosperous 2024.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2023 via mobile

Average experience given this hotels pricing. The place needs some attention for sure. The positives. It was clean, breakfast was great and bed was comfortable. We had to turn off the in room fridge as it was so noisey. There is very little noise insulation and the bar outside provided loud noise until the fire alarms at 11:30pm. In the morning reception tried to change me a second time for the room and I had to push back for them to realise I had paid and breakfast was include. I’ve experienced mush better than this.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TrevorColtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Geddes, Owner at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

Dear Trevor. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your observations and positive comments. The fire alarm at 11:30pm was unwelcome for all concerned and fortunately was not as a result of an actual fire at the property. We will share your feedback with the team as this will assist us by improving our levels of service and product. We wish you and your family a peaceful and prosperous 2024.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews