We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
7
28
24
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
28
24
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel bar beds were very comfortable a nice place to stay free wifi stayed for one night small town nice room franz josef the main road in town lake kiwi supermarket fox helicopter
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Fox Glacier is a small village and this hotel is prominently situated but I could not recommend it. My room was in an annex immediately behind the offices of a helicopter company so in the morning there was considerable noise from the staff in the office. The rooms themselves are barely adequate and were packed with passengers from a bus party. The restaurant was busy but the general ambience was not great with customers noisy and raucous. The same was true of the adjoining bar. Of the 20+ hotels in which I stayed during a five week tour of New Zealand this was probably the poorest.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ColinM1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Good morning Colin M,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier.
It is a shame to hear you were unhappy with your room - from your description above I assume you were staying in our recently refurbished Sullivan B block rooms which we have received fantastic reviews from since the refurbishment.
If you happen to have specific feedback regarding issues with your room please do not hesitate to contact me directly; Melissa.alexander@heartlandhotels.co.nz so that I can ensure a solution is reached.
Our café and bar accommodate guests from within the hotel and also the local area - we do offer room service as an option also.
I hope to hear from you in the near future regarding your concerns.

Kind regards,
Melissa Alexander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Good place to stay in Fox Glacier, helpful attendees few nice shops near by and very peaceful. We found now-days most of the action is happening in Franz so we ended up driving back and forth a fair bit but with saying that accommodation was cheaper in Fox. A good idea for families who don't require being close to the 'bar' scene in Franz. Close to Lake Matherson for a nice walk. Internet was on the slower side..

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HopeF163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Good afternoon Hope F,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - and you are quite correct - we are located only 20 minutes drive from Franz Josef and our town offers a number of lovely scenic walks in the national park.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Melissa Alexander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Heartland is located well in Fox glacier township. The rooms were very nice and renovated and offered nice views of greenery and mountains. The staff were very helpful in organizing shuttle for us to glacier terminal and lake mathesan. But we did not like the inhouse restaurant breakfast buffet and dinner, food did not seem as fresh. Though the restaurant has good environment, there are better choices outside.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankurmalik83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Good morning ankurmalik83,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier.
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We offer a range of options for breakfast - full or continental breakfast buffet, or you may order from our a la carte menu - this dishes are made to order and tailored to suit your need.

I do hope you enjoyed your time on the West Coast.

Kind regards,
Melissa Alexander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We stayed here for on night. The hotel was the first built in Fox Glacier but has been remodeled. The rooms are adequate in size, remembering that it is an older building, and the bathroom was modern. Bed was comfy. Refrigerator and tea making facilities in room. We ate dinner in attched pub and were pleased. Free wifi and computers for guest use. Laundry facility available. Great mountain view from our room. Right in Fox Glacier so you can walk to cafes, general store, etc.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Good morning Rodger T,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Melissa Alexander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Really disappointed, we were told we had a remodeled room. The room was barely big enough for 2 twin beds and 2 chairs; no drawers, no place to hang clothes, not even a hook to hang a coat. The bathroom didn't have a hook to hang your clothes, no where to put makeup or shaving things. Did have WI-FI in room. The staff were very pleasant and the dinner and breakfast were good. Would not stay there again

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tgrace6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Good morning tgrace6,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier.
A shame to hear you were unhappy with your room - I would recommend communicating these comments to reception upon arrival into the room to see if a room more suited to your needs could have been arranged.

Kind regards,
Melissa Alexander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews