We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ADVENTURE MAGAZINE
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Crazy place to stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Dec 2023
We’ll be prepared for out of the bag unique the hotel is stuffed with crazy stuff and antiques from giant gollum on the roof to live parrots inside - every space n shelf is covered with curiosities - the rooms are comfortable n just as crazy - great stepping stone to Arthur’s pass
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Stop at the devils cauldron - keep your eye open for lupins in season amazing
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
127.5 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $128
  • Hotels.com
127.7 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $570
  • Hotels.com
127.2 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $362
  • Hotels.com
127.8 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Glacier View Villa
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
126.0 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $109
  • Hotels.com
143.8 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
143.8 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
reception area
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $104
  • Hotels.com
143.9 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from room
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $83
  • Lol.travel
143.5 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $106
  • Hotels.com
144.4 km from Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
65
45
25
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
45
25
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner scones massage chair day trip great coffee staff member amazing antiques a real treasure trove unique experience feel welcome museum lester history cafe christchurch memorabilia photos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2023 via mobile

This hotel has a very unique cafe. It is furnished with furniture from bygone days. Lots of memorabilia, artwork, artifacts and posters from a time long past. The owners are very welcoming and delightful. Lots on the cafe menu and even if it is not they made a nice veggie sandwich for my wife. I had the fish burger with chips. Both were delightful!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Smoltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2023

Stopped in on a wet motorcycle trip from Hokitika to Christchurch. Found the dining room very busy with a large Indian group who had cereal and half eaten baby food sachets and clothes all over the tables. Ordered a meal each, the first meal arrived and was eaten before the other two arrived, and only after we asked where it was. When they finally arrived there was a thumb in the mashed potato holding the plate.Not somewhere id recommend eating, maybe worth a look once at all the junk inside but thats all.

Room tip: Expect instant coffee or a teabag warmed at the coffee machine for $5 a cup
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Global18933667331
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2023

My son and I pulled up late one evening,the place was closed,We knocked on the door the owner opened the doors for us,fed us white bait fritters 😋and I washed that down with a cold beer🍻 .I tell ya what he looked after us Big Time! We had turns in the massage chair before we went to bed,I woke up and went and had breakfast with the man,I think he is an absolute legend.cheers mate👍

Room tip: A must stop
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clyde R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2023 via mobile

Otira Pub is Closed.
Visited today and found the place is no longer operating. Such a pity as it looked very unique and in a great location on the Arthur’s pass road. Lots of old memorabilia outside the building. Other people were driving in and then leaving while we were there as they found it closed.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank dondT5349AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2023

We stopped for a coffee and stayed for nearly an hour.
The coffee was the best we had on our 4 day trip and the scones were just freshly made and were still warm.
The owner was friendly and then we were fascinated by all the historic photos and historic items in the hotel. It is like a museum.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janna5r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews