We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Max W

Rude??

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2023
Sadly never got the chance to leave a proper review!
Found them to be really rude over the phone, refused to offer us a site despite us asking very politely.
Extremely frustrating experience all round!
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$144
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $144
  • Tripadvisor
    $144
  • Priceline
90.7 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$108
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $98
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $108
90.9 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$129
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
107.1 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free parking
Restaurant
$195
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $195
107.3 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
beds
$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $110
106.8 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
reception area
$130
  • Expedia.com
    $133
  • Agoda.com
    $119
  • Priceline
90.9 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
106.8 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$570
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $570
107.6 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    $278
  • Expedia.com
    $364
107.0 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Expedia.com
    $140
107.0 km from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
17
30
19
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
30
19
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

We stopped here in our campervan as we needed to charge batteries and dump toilet/waste water. Sites are nice and flat, if a little Spartan. The communal kitchen and lounge/dining area are fantastic.

The showers are stingy. There's no other word for it. 5 minutes and the hot water cuts out. If you're the first person to have a shower, 2 of those minutes are taken up with waiting for the hot water to come through. I'd have been better off having a shower in my van.

Go back factor: medium.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Teleost
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2021

Handy location to the main road so it was easy to access. Excellent kitchen and bathroom facilities. There was a large amenity area but I did not use this.
Still do not agree that more than $20 should be charged for a non-powered site.
There was free WIFI.
The staff member at the desk was average when it came to providing the kind of customer service you hope for.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoltan330
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

Lovely, homely place to sit by the warm fire, chat to the locals and enjoy a nice hot shower and sleep on the west coast, with family friendly prices. Super considerate putting us with our family near the kitchen especially in the rain. Thank you so much

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank billysue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2020

Our original plan was to do an overnight tour in Franz Joseph, but it was cancelled last minute, so we decided to drive a little further down to not be so far away from Wanaka de next day. We started looking and the only place who answered the phone was this lodge.If you arrive at night is a little difficult to find since the outside sign says another name and then it just looks like a parking lot. We arrived late at night and despite that, the lady in the recepction was nice and explicative. We were lucky enough to have the dorm room for ourselves so it was pretty confortable. Spacious for a dorm. No lockers but didn't need them since we were alone. The kitchen and common area is huge. The vibe was a little off, there were some drunk guys that night but nothing outrageous or anything. The showers are the tricky part. They have just a buttton that supposedely gives you 5 minutes of hot water but it didn't came out, ever. So I ended up not showering that night. The stars in the area are BREATHTAKING since is so isolated, such a shame that it was too cold to stay outside and stargaze. Overall, for a pit stop it is worth the money and I would stay again if necessary.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Carliems
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

Stayed in the dorm at the Lodge and overall it was a fine basic stay. The building is a combo of motel, backpacker and tent/powered sight. For $37 NZD, it did what it was there to do.

The common area is really big and spacious but sound does bounce. That said, no one was up late so it wasn’t an issue. The rooms upstairs are brighter as well but rooms can get really warm with the sun bearing down. Kitchen is small and sparse on the supplies but workable. Plenty of fridge space too.

Internet is very strong and free. Bathrooms are clean but there is a hot water button for 5 minutes use only. Haven’t seen that yet in NZ so be quick. Bathroom and kitchen/lounge do close midday for awhile to clean but you can still access and use but around the staff. Not the end of the world.

Beds are pretty comfortable and room has okay storage. It wasn’t busy when I was there so I could spread out.

My biggest issue is the volume of sandflies in this hostel. If the doors or windows are left open, sandflies flood the common room and bedrooms and it is miserable. I was eaten alive one night by them and the bites are so uncomfortable for days. Truly the worst sandfly situation I’ve had in NZ. And cleaning staff leaves the windows and a door open to air out the space so you have to really remind or tell people to keep them closed unless you want to get attacked by bugs.

Staff is very nice and helpful.

I would recommend this place and probably stay again (since there are few options), but watch out for the sandflies, that’s the only reason I would not return.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Bayjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews