We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing brown trout other guests first class new zealand south island five star fishing experience caught fish fine dining end of the day days fishing first rate sense of humour dinner table
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2022 via mobile

A truly fantastic getaway for those who love anything about fly fishing, great value and totally worth the cost, the guides are very skilled and able to put you on the fish, right through to landing them, there's activities for non fishing folk too

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

Thank you for coming along to our Luxury women's fly fishing retreat Sheryl. It was wonderful to meet you and see a group of women having so much fun !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2022 via mobile

Felix, Kylie, Ryan and Chris did a fantastic job looking after us. Lodge is in a perfect spot, great accommodation, food to die for and excellent fishing with Chris. Highly recommended to those who are expert or, like us, beginner fly fishers for brown trout. Picturesque scenery and nice people.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

We were very fortunate that so many kiwi's decided to come and learn how to fly fish. Thank you for taking the time to write your review - its very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2022

Owen River was a welcome break from Covid at the end of 2021.
My previous experience' on the water', was three days, so l was looking forward to fishing in the Upper South Island.
Felix is a relaxed host with a good sense of humour. Kylie has a calm demeanor and her previous experience as a teacher showed, during a casting lesson on the day we arrived.
We enjoyed drinks and nibbles at the bar, then Chef Ryan cooked up beautiful evening meals.
Using the Lodge's equipment made things easy. Felix has quality Fly Fishing gear, that was clean and well maintained.
Paul was my Guide for both days. His 32 years experience showed. We hooked 13 fish and landed 8 on the first day. The browns were more illusive the second day, but managed to land a couple good sized, after losing a few.
I appreciated Paul's systematic approach to catching fish. His techniques worked, the results above can be attributed to him.
The best take out from the stay was that I left a better Fly Fisherman than when I arrived. The scenery superb and fun was had. We loved falling asleep to and waking up to the sound of Owen River.
One of Life's great experiences.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LeanneR165
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

Thank you Peter, it was a delight to meet you & Leanne. I appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review.
The ORL team and I look forward to seeing you here again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2021

We had the pleasure to attend the first "learn to fly fish" weekend at Owen River Lodge - what a brilliant thing to do. Kylie is a qualified fly casting instructor and has the patience of a saint! Her skills will have you catching trout in no time - I can attest to that; I was an absolute beginner and I landed a nice 5 pounder!! Felix and Kylie are wonderful hosts and the accommodation, food and outdoor environment are top notch and suited us extremely well. From the moment we arrived until we left, we were so well taken care of, we barely had to think for ourselves! We were teamed up with Adam who showed us some amazing fishing spots, was generous with his knowledge and provided us with lifelong tips and tricks. This is definitely an experience that we intend to repeat.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N5819VJjoannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Thank you Jo for coming along to our Learn to Fly Fish weekend , it was great to meet you & Sam !
And thank you for writing such a glowing review and for landing that magnificent 5lb wild New Zealand brown trout

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Owen River Lodge for a ‘Learn to Fly Fish’ weekend and it was a truly amazing experience! Felix and Kylie are wonderful hosts who make sure you’re completely looked after throughout your stay.

The lodge is beautifully appointed on the river, and I can’t speak highly enough of the luxury accommodation and exquisite meals.

We were paired with Chris, who was our fishing guide for the weekend. Not only did he share his amazing knowledge but he also gave me hundreds of tips and tricks to keep working on.

This is not only a great hobby, but an experience you will treasure for years to come! I can’t wait to come and stay again!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank daniel_whiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Thank you Dan for your very kind words. I was delighted with the guest feedback re our Learn to Fly fish weekend and will be making it a regular feature of the Owen River Lodge program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews