We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TG Fly Fishing
Expectations exceeded - and that doesn’t include the fishing!!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Apr 2021
My wife and I spent three wonderful nights at ORL and could not have been happier.
The weather was challenging, but that’s fishing, and on the day we had with our guide Stefano, we hooked 6 great fish.

Felix, Kylie and Indy, together with their fantastic chefs Ryan and Jo make you feel at home the moment you arrive.

We look forward to our next visit to chase some dry fly action in December.
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$260
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
17.7 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Buller River ... 2min walk away for all your river activities.
Tripadvisor
$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
18.1 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our Murchison Adventure
Tripadvisor
$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
18.7 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
17.8 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Park grounds set in stunning rural New Zealand
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
10.8 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free parking
Lazy place..
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
18.2 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
pool area
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
18.2 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.7 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Lol.travel
38.2 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
19.0 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Murchison
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing brown trout other guests first class new zealand south island five star fishing experience caught fish fine dining end of the day days fishing first rate sense of humour dinner table
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2021

Just spent 4 lovely nights at OWL. Beautiful informal surroundings with great views. The dinners were exceptional thanks to Jo and Ryan. Felix & Kylie made us very welcome and comfortable. Paul guided David to some great fishing spots resulting in a 6lb brown trout & 2 huge salmon, 13 and 17lb. Thanks Kylie for letting me arrange flowers & foliage from your gorgeous garden.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C8183CQcatherines
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2021

It was lovely meeting you & David, thank you for taking the time to write a review and of course for choosing to stay at Owen River Lodge. The team and I hope to see you here again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021 via mobile

My husband was looking for a place to go to stay for a few days that provided him with a great place to fish but would suit myself (who doesn't fish). He spotted Owen River Lodge (who was running a Kiwi Special Rates) 2 nights/1 day guided fishing. On very short notice(around 9pm, Saturday night of Waitangi weekend)he contacted the Lodge and Felix (owner) couldn't have been more helpful and was able to accommodate for us to come next day.
Owen River Lodge is situated in the most lovely setting on the edge of the Owen River. Great views of the river from the Lodge itself and the rooms.
When we arrived in the afternoon, it was lovely and hot and Felix suggested there was a good swimming hole to go in to cool off - was awesome.
I can't say enough how wonderful the service, food (provided by Ryan, their on-site chef), and how lovely the room was. The room was spotless, bed super comfy.
My husband’s fishing day arrived and the guide assigned was great. He had a marvellous experience, catching fish, getting tips on his casting techniques when he asked for advice from Adam (guide).
Our whole stay was relaxing, food awesome, hospitality provided by Felix and Kylie couldn't have been more welcoming.
Would recommend this place without a doubt and will look forward to returning in the near future.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HelenK2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2021

Thank you for your lovely review Helen, the team and I hope to see you & Brian here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2021

Wow, what an amazing stay we had at Owen River Lodge! Felix and Kylie are fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble and Ryan's cuisine is divine!

I would definitely spend 3 nights here even if I wasn't fishing. The location is idyllic - river, farm, native bush, flower gardens. There is also plenty to do aside from fishing - walks, swimming in the water hole, soaking in the jacuzzi, having a relaxing massage and reading books on the porch. St Arnaud and stunning Lake Rotoiti are also nearby.

Our fishing guide, Chris, was super helpful and knowledgeable. The fish on this occasion were very spooky, but Chris' expertise got us onto some good size browns and we had several shots (including a good hook up!) at some nice trout in beautiful surroundings.

Thank you Felix and team for a wonderful escape. We would love to stay again.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank katiepie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

Thank you for your very kind words Kate. It was a delight to meet you & Steve, the team and I look forward to your return visit.
The wild brown trout will be waiting and hopefully a little more willing !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend here and got the warmest hospitality from Felix, Kylie, Ryan and Indi. Nothing was too much trouble and lots of great recommendations were given to us non-fishing folk. Immaculate suite thanks to the wonderful housekeeping team. Absolutely would recommend ORL and we look forward to returning. Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KeelyMaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Thank you Keely for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and thank you for planning a return stay with us.
We look forward to see you & Bruce in April

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

Just returned home after a weekend stay at Owen River Lodge. A wonderful weekend made up of relaxing with a good book, a couple of walks, being spoilt with amazing food, many coffees and some great gins. Hubby enjoyed the fly fishing, so all happy. A great place to escape to for a short break. Thanks so much Felix, Kylie, Ryan & Indi the dog.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank Laundry-Mistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Eleven Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Thank you Jacqui for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted you & Scott enjoyed your time at Owen River Lodge and hope to see you here again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews