We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
304
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
304
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing other guests brown trout his team new zealand south island fishing experience caught fish end of the day fabulous food wonderful weekend heaven on earth great fish dinner table each evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2020

There are simply not enough superlatives to describe our 6-night, 4-day fishing stay at Owen River Lodge (ORL)! Felix, Kylie and each one of their accomplished and friendly team of wonderful guides, chefs and housekeepers delivered services that were far, far above and beyond our wildest expectations. Tucked away in a beautiful valley along the Owen River, the view from the covered porch of our incredibly well-appointed "cabin" was as perfect as everything we experienced at ORL. From the moment we arrived, Felix and Kylie made us feel as comfortable as family. And Ryan, Jo and Cassandra fed us like royalty! Every meal was delicious and beautifully presented. Our cabin was always impeccably cleaned and restocked by the lovely ladies who were eager to accommodate our tiniest request. Chris, our fishing guide, was terrific! Even though we have each been fly-fishing for almost 40 years all over the USA, we learned SO MUCH from Chris about fishing for wary brown trout in New Zealand. He took us to some of the most beautiful rivers we've ever seen and fished. And, we sincerely appreciated his tireless hunt for "happy" (AKA "feeding") fish that we could (sometimes, LOL!) catch. Thanks to Chris, and ORL's extraordinary quality gear loaner program (which includes absolutely EVERYTHING a fly-fisher needs) we left with memories that will stay with us for the rest of our lives . . . at least until we return to ORL, which we fully intend to do - as soon as possible!

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank durhamranger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2020

WoW, that's some review !

Thank you Fred & Cindy, firstly for choosing to stay @ ORL and then for taking the time to write such a glowing review.
I am extraordinarily lucky to have a great team of chefs, wait staff, housekeepers who share my focus on trying to deliver the very best guest experience we can. Take care and hope to see you here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

Felix, Kylie and Indy were great hosts for our four night stay at the lodge and have put together a fantastic team. The lodge is as pristine as the surrounds.

Peter our guide knew the region backwards and I swear had telescopes for eyes. When we could get ourselves together to put the fly where he pointed we hit gold! At the end of the day fishing, all the punters and guides got to share stories and banter ... it was a great atmosphere.

This atmosphere was of course well lubricated by some great local beer and wine with the lovely Cassandra always on the ball for top ups!

Jo and Ryan in the kitchen had us well fed and ready for bed each night (post me over some of those lamb cutlets!). Lucky I wasn’t wearing a belt.

As enthusiastic amateurs my mate and I were sorted with top notch loan gear and put on to some great fish. The small nature of the lodge means you get to meet everyone and get lots of tips. At least half of the other guests were return punters (which I think says a lot about the place) and were a wealth of knowledge too.

Hot tips from my visit would be 1. avoid light blue clothes which the insects seem to love, 2. Don’t forget your glove, 3.. If in doubt, Strike!

See you guys again soon!
Dean M

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank O9621POdeanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix Borenstein, Owner at Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Thank you Dean, its always a blast to welcome newbies to the Owen River Lodge family of repeat guests - we call them repeat offenders !

We all hope to see you & Nick back here again soon

Felix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2020

My husband and I enjoyed a three night, two day visit recently at ORL. We are repeat visitors and it just....keeps.....getting.....better! Felix, Kylie, Ryan and Cassandra were stellar in their customer service. We enjoyed exceptional meals at Ryan's hand and Felix & Kylie see to the smallest detail including room amenities and impeccably manicured grounds. We are casual fly-fishing people and to that end DON'T overlook this place if you are not an expert in fly fishing. There are a multitude of various activities to engage in during your stay and the guides are great at mentoring and helping with technique. Our guide, Gavin, was an affable young man whom we throughly enjoyed. He provided efficient guidance and put us on multiple fish. Bottom line: we'll be back~ OH....Indie, the resident lab is irresistible and the wine list is impressive!

Room tip: all the rooms are excellent
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sermars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Owner at Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Thank you Sue Ellen, its always a delight to have you & Mark stay with us every season !
Thank you for your very kind words and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2019

Felix, Kylie and the amazing team at Owen River Lodge (ORL) continue to exceed expectations. I have been visiting the South Island of New Zealand since 1997 and have stayed at ORL several times now. From the first trip, ORL has been unique and outstanding - somehow it keeps getting even nicer! Felix is tireless at making ORL even better, which is no easy task given the high bar he and his team have already set.

The cabins are beautiful and comfortable and continue to look like they are brand new. They are meticulously maintained and luxuriously appointed.

The main lodge had some great but subtle upgrades since my last visit including a spectacular new picture window in the dining room overlooking the river and, during October, snow-capped mountains.

Chef’s Ryan and Jo impress at every meal. Delicious, hearty and healthy food.

At the end of the day, I visit ORL for the fishing and Felix has built (and continues to develop through an innovative training program) an impressive stable of guides. As good a team as I’ve seen in my 20+ years fishing the area. The lodge’s location is ideal and due to the great number of area rivers the diversity of the fishing opportunities feels endless.

Truly an outstanding experience in every way and it’s clear why ORL continues to win so many NZ tourism awards!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank W6116SUdavidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Owner at Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2020

Thank you Dave for staying and fishing with us again.The ultimate complement for a lodge owner is when guests decide to return and fish with us year after year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019

This was my wife's and my second trip to ORL in the last 8 months.
It was late spring and a wide variety of beautiful rivers were at our disposal.
Including the Owen River which runs through the property.
The fishing was out of this world. The guides first class. The total experience, one of a kind. That is because when you come back form a great day on the water you slide right into the warm confines of the ORL where Felix, Kyile, and the staff make you feel right at home. The food is spectacular. The fellowship is warm and inviting with the other anglers.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Whitefish9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Owner at Owen River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and a huge thank you for staying with us again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews