We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing brown trout other guests first class new zealand south island five star fishing experience caught fish fine dining end of the day days fishing first rate sense of humour dinner table
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2019 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at Owen River Lodge. From the moment we arrived to the reluctant moment that we left, it was an outstanding experience. Felix and Kylie are wonderful hosts. They have created the perfect set-up for anyone who wants to combine some of the world’s best fly-fishing with high quality 5 star accommodation and dining. It is hard to beat. The bedrooms are spacious, private, and very well equipped with stunning views over the Owen River. The attention to detail throughout our stay was impressive and sets Owen River Lodge apart from many other places we have stayed at. The cuisine prepared by Ryan the Chef and his assistant Casawndra, was of the highest standard and beautifully presented. Dinner is served as an intimate dinner party, enabling guests from around the world to get to know each other and to share stories of the fish caught and the ones that ‘got away’! Again Felix and Kylie were perfect hosts. Although the weather was not ideal, the fishing was a truly memorable experience. I am a fairly experienced angler, but my wife has only fished once before. Our excellent guide Dave (who I cannot recommend highly enough) ensured that both of us had 2 very special days of fishing, with my wife catching her first brown trout, and me catching my largest one to date. Thank you all for such a memorable stay at the Lodge. We are certainly planning to return.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank pauljJ7976WZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2019

We are not new to Owen Lodge, and there is a reason we keep going back. The facilities are exceptional, the food amazing and the hospitality is fantastic. Felix, Kylie, Ryan and Jo all make the stay warm and friendly, with great food as a bonus.Then there is the Fishing! it never dissapoints, the access to numerous and varying rivers is the highlight.
Cant recommend the place highly enough

Room tip: All the Rooms are the great and very similar
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2019

This was our first trip to NZ for fly-fishing.
Our home waters are in NW Montana.
We stayed there in March.
It was amazing. ORL is cozy and warm and sits in a breath taking setting.
Felix and the team do a 5 star job of making your feel welcome and the food is exceptional. The guiding team is first rate and the variety of waters to fish are vast.
Montana fishing is very good but fishing here out of the ORL is extraordinary.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Whitefish9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2019

We have traveled to ORL four years in a row during the first week of the year (2016-2019). Our experience each time has been supurb -- great accommodation with pastoral, peaceful view, great meals served family style always with interesting conversation, and the fishing is nothing short of amazing enabled by guides with deep knowledge of the many rivers and always striving to ensure we have the best-possible experience. Returning each year to ORL has become like being with family and friends. We have already booked for 2020 and we can hardly wait to get back!

Room tip: Every room is great
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanA604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2019

This is a fabulous place to stay - a warm,relaxed and friendly ambience - superb food and extremely comfortable accommodation with the most spectacular views and setting.

Felix has some of the best guides in New Zealand who are all extremely knowledgeable and helpful whether you are a complete beginner or expert.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimW3099
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews