We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing brown trout other guests first class new zealand south island five star fishing experience caught fish fine dining end of the day days fishing first rate sense of humour dinner table
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2019

We are not new to Owen Lodge, and there is a reason we keep going back. The facilities are exceptional, the food amazing and the hospitality is fantastic. Felix, Kylie, Ryan and Jo all make the stay warm and friendly, with great food as a bonus.Then there is the Fishing! it never dissapoints, the access to numerous and varying rivers is the highlight.
Cant recommend the place highly enough

Room tip: All the Rooms are the great and very similar
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2019

This was our first trip to NZ for fly-fishing.
Our home waters are in NW Montana.
We stayed there in March.
It was amazing. ORL is cozy and warm and sits in a breath taking setting.
Felix and the team do a 5 star job of making your feel welcome and the food is exceptional. The guiding team is first rate and the variety of waters to fish are vast.
Montana fishing is very good but fishing here out of the ORL is extraordinary.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Whitefish9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2019

We have traveled to ORL four years in a row during the first week of the year (2016-2019). Our experience each time has been supurb -- great accommodation with pastoral, peaceful view, great meals served family style always with interesting conversation, and the fishing is nothing short of amazing enabled by guides with deep knowledge of the many rivers and always striving to ensure we have the best-possible experience. Returning each year to ORL has become like being with family and friends. We have already booked for 2020 and we can hardly wait to get back!

Room tip: Every room is great
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanA604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2019

This is a fabulous place to stay - a warm,relaxed and friendly ambience - superb food and extremely comfortable accommodation with the most spectacular views and setting.

Felix has some of the best guides in New Zealand who are all extremely knowledgeable and helpful whether you are a complete beginner or expert.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimW3099
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2019

I visited Owen River Lodge January 27 - February 2. I last visited ORL about 5 years ago. It is still a great fishing experience and the staff and accommodations are still superb.

Fishing on the South Island is a unique experience because you and your guide are basically hunting for fish. You will not be doing a lot of blind casting to seemingly likely pockets of water. You will be sight-casting to big fish, (3-7 pounds by weight) in crystal clear water. I was casting 30-50 feet for fish and my largest was a 7 1/4 pound Brown.

Felix is the host at ORL. He has a fine staff that attends to your needs efficiently without being underfoot. A delightful stay in every respect. The food is top notch cuisine too.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lortonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews