We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
267
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
267
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing brown trout other guests his team world class new zealand south island fishing experience great fishing bucket list days fishing our honeymoon course dinner three days my wife and i have just
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Had an incredible stay at Owen River Lodge in December. I am a pretty serious flyfisherman so the fishing aspect was the most important part and it truly exceeded my expectations! Felix did a great job matching us to a guide (Tom) that was just as passionate about trout as I am. As for the room and amenities, the word that comes to mind is perfection. The attention to detail was amazing. Great food and great company for dinners. The entire staff was awesome including the Labs! I tried to find something Felix got wrong but truly couldn’t think of anything. Overall, it was an incredible stay at an even more incredible place.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Brier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We spent three days at Owen River Lodge....wish we had two more. We flew to Nelson and had an easy and beautiful 1 hour 10 minute drive to Owen River. We were met by Felix and Keely's beautiful dogs and quickly got settled with a lovely glass of wine and gorgeous food. The rooms are comfortable and quaint and it is fun to eat with the other guests before and after fishing.....the best part may be Chef Ryan's master pieces but those are often overshadowed by the fish tails. The guides are tremendous. The rivers are unspoiled and clear. We heli-fished and drove into remote areas. The fish bite and so do the sand flies....but Felix will save the day with his natural bug repellent. If you do not feel like fishing, it is easy to get to Abel Tasman, which is a must. Also, Felix can pull out his mountain bikes and you can easily take a 12 KM ride that winds along the Owen RIver and all its glory. This fishing lodge isn't to be missed. If you REALLY like to fish, this is the place!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Owen River Lodge for three days on our honeymoon. It was our first time fly fishing and an incredible experience we will never forget! Felix and team really exceeded every expectation. They made us feel at home, welcome and were very accommodating to us beginners ;) , teaching us everything we need to know in order to have a great day fishing. The room and amenities couldn't have been better, the food world-class, the wine plenty, and our fishing guide, Tom, was fabulous!! We are now hooked on fly fishing and can't wait to come back to Owen River Lodge some day!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pioneer745659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Just completed a lovely 4-night stay at the Owen River Lodge. Felix is a wonderful host, the facilities and equipment provided are top notch, and the food outstanding. Spent 3 days fishing with guide Adam who put us on to MANY large brown trout, and I can't recommend the Owen River Lodge highly enough.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 416robertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

From the moment we arrived to the day we left Felix and Kylie provided an exceptional experience. The cottage was beutifully appointed with all you would need plus more with a view of the Owen River, all you could here was the water flowing down the river. A little fairy crept in each night while we were having our evening meal and turned down the bed, leaving a choclate by each side. The meals, from the mueslie and yoghurt made at the lodge to the 5 star dinner at night were beautifully prepared and presented and tasted incredible. However, the thing that topped all this was the fishing. Our guide Adam went above and beyond, taking us into some spectacular country and fishing some fantastic rivers. He managed to put a first time complete fly fishing novice like myself onto some great fish. My partner also caught some exceptional fish. We would recommend anyone contemplating a stay in NZ to consider Owen River Lodge. They even cater to those that aren't fishing.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews