We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
265
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing brown trout his team other guests new zealand south island guided fishing fishing experience great fishing days fishing fantastic experience first rate brownie meals prepared spent days
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We spent three days at Owen River Lodge....wish we had two more. We flew to Nelson and had an easy and beautiful 1 hour 10 minute drive to Owen River. We were met by Felix and Keely's beautiful dogs and quickly got settled with a lovely glass of wine and gorgeous food. The rooms are comfortable and quaint and it is fun to eat with the other guests before and after fishing.....the best part may be Chef Ryan's master pieces but those are often overshadowed by the fish tails. The guides are tremendous. The rivers are unspoiled and clear. We heli-fished and drove into remote areas. The fish bite and so do the sand flies....but Felix will save the day with his natural bug repellent. If you do not feel like fishing, it is easy to get to Abel Tasman, which is a must. Also, Felix can pull out his mountain bikes and you can easily take a 12 KM ride that winds along the Owen RIver and all its glory. This fishing lodge isn't to be missed. If you REALLY like to fish, this is the place!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Owen River Lodge for three days on our honeymoon. It was our first time fly fishing and an incredible experience we will never forget! Felix and team really exceeded every expectation. They made us feel at home, welcome and were very accommodating to us beginners ;) , teaching us everything we need to know in order to have a great day fishing. The room and amenities couldn't have been better, the food world-class, the wine plenty, and our fishing guide, Tom, was fabulous!! We are now hooked on fly fishing and can't wait to come back to Owen River Lodge some day!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pioneer745659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Just completed a lovely 4-night stay at the Owen River Lodge. Felix is a wonderful host, the facilities and equipment provided are top notch, and the food outstanding. Spent 3 days fishing with guide Adam who put us on to MANY large brown trout, and I can't recommend the Owen River Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

From the moment we arrived to the day we left Felix and Kylie provided an exceptional experience. The cottage was beutifully appointed with all you would need plus more with a view of the Owen River, all you could here was the water flowing down the river. A little fairy crept in each night while we were having our evening meal and turned down the bed, leaving a choclate by each side. The meals, from the mueslie and yoghurt made at the lodge to the 5 star dinner at night were beautifully prepared and presented and tasted incredible. However, the thing that topped all this was the fishing. Our guide Adam went above and beyond, taking us into some spectacular country and fishing some fantastic rivers. He managed to put a first time complete fly fishing novice like myself onto some great fish. My partner also caught some exceptional fish. We would recommend anyone contemplating a stay in NZ to consider Owen River Lodge. They even cater to those that aren't fishing.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Room was very clean and relaxing. Bathroom was beautiful with all requirements covered. A rose by the bed. Just couldn't fault a thing 10plus The location was beautiful and the service exceptional. Would recommend owen river lodge to everyone. amazing

Room Tip: every room had a fantastic view to river and mountains
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews