We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
303
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
303
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing other guests brown trout his team new zealand south island fishing experience caught fish end of the day fabulous food wonderful weekend heaven on earth great fish dinner table each evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Just completed a lovely 4-night stay at the Owen River Lodge. Felix is a wonderful host, the facilities and equipment provided are top notch, and the food outstanding. Spent 3 days fishing with guide Adam who put us on to MANY large brown trout, and I can't recommend the Owen River Lodge highly enough.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 416robertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

From the moment we arrived to the day we left Felix and Kylie provided an exceptional experience. The cottage was beutifully appointed with all you would need plus more with a view of the Owen River, all you could here was the water flowing down the river. A little fairy crept in each night while we were having our evening meal and turned down the bed, leaving a choclate by each side. The meals, from the mueslie and yoghurt made at the lodge to the 5 star dinner at night were beautifully prepared and presented and tasted incredible. However, the thing that topped all this was the fishing. Our guide Adam went above and beyond, taking us into some spectacular country and fishing some fantastic rivers. He managed to put a first time complete fly fishing novice like myself onto some great fish. My partner also caught some exceptional fish. We would recommend anyone contemplating a stay in NZ to consider Owen River Lodge. They even cater to those that aren't fishing.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Room was very clean and relaxing. Bathroom was beautiful with all requirements covered. A rose by the bed. Just couldn't fault a thing 10plus The location was beautiful and the service exceptional. Would recommend owen river lodge to everyone. amazing

Room tip: every room had a fantastic view to river and mountains
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

What a superb atmosphere from kind and generous people all round. You created for us a delightful, peaceful, challenging and fun environment for a weekend! Everything was stunning, not a thing could be improved. Thank you for your investment in us and in people full stop.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank RedJaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

A fishing Mecca with incredible hosts, 5 star accommodations and meals made to perfection. My husbands fishing guide Paul was a master both at fishing and making it a delightful day. The scenery was stunning and the 5lb brown trout was pretty nice too! We'll be back!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews