We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
265
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef ryanowen riverfly fishingbrown trouthis teamother guestsnew zealandsouth islandguided fishingfishing experiencegreat fishingdays fishingfantastic experiencefirst ratebrownieeach eveninggreat guide
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous place, kept wanting to pinch myself, thought I must be dreaming. I feel so very lucky to have had the opportunity to stay at Owen River Lodge. Outstanding welcome, outstanding accommodation, outstanding location and view, outstanding facilities, a very high standard throughout yet totally charming, homely and comfortable.

Chef Ryan surpassed all expectations, the food was a total gastronomic delight; a taste bud explosion in every mouthful.

The fishing was a fantastic experience and our fishing guides were so knowledgeable and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

Felix and the team are the tops, every detail is taken care of. The whole experience was sublime, I just can't praise ORL enough.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank WGMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I spent the last week of March at Owen River Lodge and it exceeded my expectations. The grounds are beautiful, the location wonderful and relaxing, and the rooms are outstanding. They even provide fresh baked cookies in the rooms every day and the small refrig is well stocked. Felix and his staff are dedicated to providing a top nitch experience. I have fished many places all over the world, but the food and service here are one of the top places I have been. Guides are excellent, quite patient, and really fun to spend the day with. They enjoy themselves as much as the guest. Fishing in New Zealand has been called the 'top of the pyramid' of fresh water fly fishing, and rightly so. I was humbled a couple of days, but every day was special; this is a place where you learn volumes about fly fishing. In addition, one gets to meet quite a variety of other guests from all over the world. You simply can't go wrong spending time here.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here. They are all excellent
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidamoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

I loved loved my stay here . Felix and his staff were super friendly and generous. The lodge is beautifully homely at the same time as being functional and stylish. The guide that I had was fab. It was a faultless stay. Thanks Felix and the team. Xxx hannah

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank hannahnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

My wife and I recently returned from a spectacular 5 week visit to New Zealand capped off with a 3 night stay at Owen River Lodge. In planning our trip, my wife (a Trip Advisor review reading junkie) wanted to end our journey with a luxury resort accommodation experience. My agenda was to sneak in a little guided fishing for elusive NZ trophy brown trout I grew up reading and dreaming so much about. Based on the reviews, it was easy to steer her to Owen River Lodge.

No need to repeat all the positive reviews which helped me. Just read them yourself. Every superlative concerning the setting, amenities, facilities, gourmet cuisine, hospitality and attention to detail proved just as described. Surprisingly, what far exceeded my expectations, however, was our fishing experience.

When booking, I told Felix we would be travelling with no fishing gear and warned him that my wife had never fly fished and I had very limited experience. His response, “No problem, we will take care of everything!” Given our limitations, I was honestly skeptical and hoping just to enjoy some solitary river fishing with spectacular scenery and, with a little luck, perhaps hook up a nice fish or two.

Shortly after our arrival and settling in, Kylie had us outfitted with top line fishing gear followed by some patient fly fishing instruction on the front lawn. I fished the next two days, one of which accompanied by my wife. The net result… thanks basically to some impressive patience and the amazing knowledge, skills and expertise of our professional guides David and Paul, I managed to land and release eight beautiful brownies! More significant, however, my wife absolutely loved the experience and managed to catch & release a real beauty entirely on her own! With what I have been listening to ever since, you can no longer convince me that bragging and telling fish stories is just a “man” thing. Thanks Felix & company!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Our group, from Japan and Guam, had flyfishing experience from none to expert and we all had a wonderful time. Food, accommodations are all first rate. No better guides anywhere. Felix even let us play the blues at the Lodge one night. Stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews